Things that make you go “Awww…”

7:00 AM: 3.1-Mile run – COMPLETED

The other night, Pedro and I had dinner at my dad’s. When my mom leaves for the motherland , we try to see dad once a week so he doesn’t get lonely. He always misses my mom when she goes away. (Insert Awww, #1). I love going there for dinner because it’s always a feast and it means no cooking for Rachel for the next two days, thanks to leftovers.

A yummy Filipino sausage known as longaniza.

Dad’s famous Bistek, which is a Filipino Beef Steak with onions.

A new dish dad makes since they opened up a Seabras near our house. They have this really thin sliced pork chops and we use this Filipino seasoning. It’s amazing. Pedro loves it.

My plate had a little of everything, except longaniza. It’s good, but not my favorite.

Pedro takes an entirely different approach when it comes to eating his pork chops. I like mine with rice; he prefers his on some good Portuguese rolls. But… this roll is just crazy humungous. Check this out.

It’s bigger than his head; just see for yourself.

I was full after dinner, but that didn’t stop me from having some chocolates.

On an unrelated note, I received a message from a friend that I met through Livestrong a few years ago. I asked her if I could share it on my blog because I thought it was very sweet.

“I see you are still kicking butt at those marathons along with your little bun in the oven 🙂 I’m so glad things are moving along so nicely for you! I just wanted to let you know I completed my first race last night!!!! I ran a 5k. I’ve only ran and timed myself on the pavement once…which was last Friday and I got 29:47. Last night, I was sure my time would be worse because there were hills, we were all clustered and I got boxed in a couple of times…but I must have pushed myself because I ended up improving and finishing in 27:28!!! I was so stoked. Out of 82 in my division, I got 15!! out of 419 women, I got 91 and out of 741 people, I got 286. So for my first go round, I don’t think I did too shabby 😉

So, needles to say, I am hooked and am already planning to run another 5k on May 15 and June 11, then a 10k, then a half in the fall and my goal for next year is a full marathon…we will see 😉 Just wanted you to know that reading about your experiences and love for running has rubbed off on me and I am now enjoying this new chapter of my life!! Best wishes for a continued healthy pregnancy!!!

~Jen”

(Insert Awww #2). Thanks Jen. You really made my day, week, month, year! Also, congratulations on your race and your future upcoming races!!!! I can’t wait to hear all about them.

I can taste the weekend… (mainly because I have a feeling there will be lots of yummy foods to come).