Things that make you go “Awww…”

7:00 AM: 3.1-Mile run – COMPLETED

The other night, Pedro and I had dinner at my dad’s. When my mom leaves for the motherland , we try to see dad once a week so he doesn’t get lonely. He always misses my mom when she goes away. (Insert Awww, #1). I love going there for dinner because it’s always a feast and it means no cooking for Rachel for the next two days, thanks to leftovers.

A yummy Filipino sausage known as longaniza.

Dad’s famous Bistek, which is a Filipino Beef Steak with onions.

A new dish dad makes since they opened up a Seabras near our house. They have this really thin sliced pork chops and we use this Filipino seasoning. It’s amazing. Pedro loves it.

My plate had a little of everything, except longaniza. It’s good, but not my favorite.

Pedro takes an entirely different approach when it comes to eating his pork chops. I like mine with rice; he prefers his on some good Portuguese rolls. But… this roll is just crazy humungous. Check this out.

It’s bigger than his head; just see for yourself.

I was full after dinner, but that didn’t stop me from having some chocolates.

On an unrelated note, I received a message from a friend that I met through Livestrong a few years ago. I asked her if I could share it on my blog because I thought it was very sweet.

“I see you are still kicking butt at those marathons along with your little bun in the oven 🙂 I’m so glad things are moving along so nicely for you! I just wanted to let you know I completed my first race last night!!!! I ran a 5k. I’ve only ran and timed myself on the pavement once…which was last Friday and I got 29:47. Last night, I was sure my time would be worse because there were hills, we were all clustered and I got boxed in a couple of times…but I must have pushed myself because I ended up improving and finishing in 27:28!!! I was so stoked. Out of 82 in my division, I got 15!! out of 419 women, I got 91 and out of 741 people, I got 286. So for my first go round, I don’t think I did too shabby 😉

So, needles to say, I am hooked and am already planning to run another 5k on May 15 and June 11, then a 10k, then a half in the fall and my goal for next year is a full marathon…we will see 😉 Just wanted you to know that reading about your experiences and love for running has rubbed off on me and I am now enjoying this new chapter of my life!! Best wishes for a continued healthy pregnancy!!!

~Jen”

(Insert Awww #2). Thanks Jen. You really made my day, week, month, year! Also, congratulations on your race and your future upcoming races!!!! I can’t wait to hear all about them.

I can taste the weekend… (mainly because I have a feeling there will be lots of yummy foods to come).

One thought on “Things that make you go “Awww…”

  1. You are so sweet to make sure to have dinner with your dad. Like I have told you before, it is wonderful how close you are to your parents.

    Dinner looks like it was delicious! That roll Pedro ate was huge, though! Too funny. I bet it was really, really good.

    I’m not much of a sausage person either. In fact, I very rarely eat any kind of sausage. Justin likes it though.

    That message from Jen was really sweet. You have totally inspired so many people! She is obviously doing great and I hope her future races go really well too.

Leave a Reply

