Great News & 25-Weeks Pregnant

6:50 AM: 5-Mile Run – PENDING COMPLETED

I’m trying to get this entry out before I get my run in. Hopefully I get through my run without any major problems. I shouldn’t be running too late either since I’ve already packed both our lunches, washed the dishes, etc. after dinner. Oh, and thank goodness I prepped dinner early yesterday morning. It was ready to just go right in the oven and the potatoes were ready to be boiled. I won’t have to cook dinner for the next three-days (well, depending if we have dinner with my in-laws tomorrow night).

When I got out of work yesterday, I stopped by Seabra’s (a Portuguese grocery store) to pick up some fresh breads, milk, etc. The bread was so yum. I had some with my leftover linguine with clam sauce. I ate well before Pedro was ready to eat, mainly because he had to hit the treadmill. By the time he was done with his workout, dinner was ready. Going back to Seabra’s, while I was shopping, Pedro called me. I got a little worried because he knew I was stopping by for groceries, but he had some great news. An important document came in the mail.

He can finally teach!!!! Only took a year, but in reality, it only took 3-weeks, which was odd because it says (and we’ve heard from other people) that it takes up to 8-10 weeks just to hear back from the Education Department. How exciting that his process was quick. Perhaps it’s from him scoring in the Top 15% percentile? or maybe it’s because they saw his praxis was taken way back in March ’10? In any event, Pedro is going to be looking for new jobs today on top of registering to take either the praxis for high school History or Social Science. I think that exam is some time in April. I’m so proud of him. I just hope there are jobs lined up.

In other news, today marks my 25th week of pregnancy. Let’s take a look at what’s going on. (This is taken from What to Expect When You’re Expecting by Heidi Murkoff and SHaron Mazel).

“Week 25. Baby’s growing by leaps and bounds (and inches and ounces), this week reaching 9-inches in length more than 1 1/2 pounds in weight. And there are exciting elopements happening on the horizon, too. Capillaries are forming under the skin and filling with blood. By week’s end, air sacs lined with capillaries will also develop in your baby’s lungs, getting them ready for that first breath of fresh air. Mind you, those lungs aren’t ready for prime-time breathing yet – and they have a lot of maturing left ot do before they will be. Though they’re already beginning to develop, a substance that will help them expand after birth, your baby’s lungs are still too undeveloped to sufficiently send oxygen to the bloodstream and release carbon dioxide from the blood (a/k/a breathe). And talking abut breathing, your baby’s nostrils, which have been plugged up until now, are starting to open up this week. This enables your baby to begin taking practice “breaths”. Your baby’s vocal cords are functioning now, leading to occasional hiccups (which you’ll certainly be feeling).”

My 25-week bump shot.

Those are sleep marks, not stretch marks. HA. I just woke up and took this picture. One thing that has me a bit down is that the baby is not kicking as much (or maybe it’s during the day he/she’s not kicking much… I’m too tired to notice when I’m sleeping) right now, and I thought it would be happening more often. I know everybody’s body is different, but I love feeling those kicks.

I’m off for a run. Hopefully it’s not brutally difficult to get through it.

7 thoughts on “Great News & 25-Weeks Pregnant

    • I visit often and will be emailing you for some tips on post-pregnancy marathon training. Can’t wait to read about Boston (I think you wrote that your mom will be running it also).

  1. First off CONGRATS to Pedro! So happy he got his certificate so he can get his foot in the door and start teaching! That’s so wonderful! I hope the job hunt goes well.

    Second, your baby bump is so cute! It’s so neat to see the progression on your blog–you can really tell how much baby is growing! And, you, of course, look awesome and not a stretch mark in sight! (You can’t really see the sleep marks much either LOL).

    I hope your run went well. As for baby kicking, you will find that the baby will be more active some days than others. When they are going through big growth spurts or a period of rapid development of something, they move a bit less. It is because their bodies are so busy doing other things! Just make sure you feel the baby pretty frequently–I would sit still for a bit and make sure I was feeling at least 10 movements in an hour (and that includes twinges, squirms etc.). I always felt that amount of movement in about 10 minutes but every baby is different. Also, if you get worried, drink something really cold and sugary like some cold juice and wait a few minutes–baby will start moving! My doctor suggested that when I called worried that I wasn’t feeling Cayden as much. 🙂

    Oh, also, as baby gets bigger, you will feel less of the huge kicks and more of other movements because baby is getting so big that things get cramped in there. 🙂

    Have a wonderful day and happy 25 weeks!

    • Thanks Allie. I was trying to look at the past bumps on my other page just to see the comparison from last week to this week. They look the same a little, but I am sure I’m getting bigger little by little. It’s probably way better to get a little big each week then to just get huge each week?!? It’s like losing weight — You don’t want to lose too much too quickly because it’s safer and more accurate to lose when it’s gradual. Right? Or am I just making this stuff up?

      THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIPS! You know, my cousin told me that same exact thing; to drink cold water and the baby will kick. I think I am going to do that right now. My problem is, once I start drinking, I can’t stop peeing, but I want to reassure myself that the baby’s doing okay in there. I’m sure that the baby is just like his dad — up between midnight-early morning hours while I’m asleep and don’t get to bond much. ;o/

      • That’s how Cayden was–he kicked mostly at night. I don’t know how many times I woke up to feel him kicking away in there, usually at 1 am. LOL I am sure your baby is perfectly fine but it never hurts to check!

        Yes, I think it is better to get bigger gradually. For one thing, you don’t get stretch marks if you get bigger slowly! Also, the baby is growing bigger gradually so it just makes sense that your belly is too. So no, you aren’t making anything up. 🙂

  2. You know, I read that about stretch marks – is that really true? Not getting stretch marks if you get bigger slowly?

    Good news. The baby was kicking up a storm last night. I was as happy as can be.

    • To some extent it is true. Some of it is also genetics though. They say if your mom got stretch marks, you are more likely to get them. Also, if you have a darker skin tone, you are less likely to get them or less likely to get noticeable marks.

Leave a comment