20-Miles after Nemo

7:15 AM: Core/Stretching – COMPLETED

We survived Nemo and woke up with power on Saturday. I was more nervous about losing power than accumulation. We got about 14-inches, nothing crazy. Hopefully that will be the worst of winter and Spring will be right around the corner. A girl could wish. Anyhow, Lili and I woke up Saturday bright and early to see a winter wonderland outside. Unfortunately, because she was developing a bit of a cough, we stayed indoors and made some homemade pancakes.

Little Helper

Little Helper

We had some pancakes and fresh fruits ready in no time.

Breakfast

Breakfast

After breakfast we just hung around. Our big plans to Crayola Factory had to be postponed, hopefully to next weekend. The rest of the day we just hung around and played and stayed lazy.

Say it ain't snow, mommy.

Say it ain’t snow, mommy.

I was in touch with Celeste throughout the day as we had 20-miles on tap. Her sister was possibly getting induced and if that was the case, then she wouldn’t be able to run with me as she’d be staying with her parents that live about an hour and a half away. She found out at 5pm that she was going to be staying there so I had been in touch with my girlfriend, Kristina, that is running a 50-mile NorthFace Challenge in May. She told me she did her long run already but needed to cross-train and would ride her bike along side while I ran my 20. My hero. I was so happy that I was able to recruit her because I’ll be honest with you… If she wasn’t going to be there with me, I doubt I would have been able to get that run in outdoors. If anything, I’d cut it a bit short and have to do it on the treadmill and I was dreading that altogether.

kristina

At mile 15.5, Kristina jumped off the bike, locked it up and ran the last 4.5 with me (or most with me). At about mile 18, I was ready for it to be over. I was done, tired, exhausted… So I kicked it and she wasn’t too far behind me.

Personal Pacer

Personal Pacer

Erin, I now know what it was like having a cyclist running next to you. Unfortunately, there were no big bucks at my finish line. 🙂

Post-run, we stretched, talked, ate a power bar and then parted ways. I was so grateful to her. Thanks, Kristina.

The rest of the day I just hung around with Lili and stayed LAZY. Lili did develop this cough the last two nights where we had to give her a nebulizer treatment. Well, last night we didn’t give it to her at first, but she was coughing so much that around 9:15 she vomited. She was so scared and upset — I cleaned her up, Pedro cleaned the sheets, I gave her a nebulizer treatment and another bath. We were so exhausted. I put her back to sleep and passed out with her.

Let’s hope she doesn’t get worse.

Anybody else get hit with Nemo? How about long runs? In the cold? Snow? Humidity?

10 thoughts on “20-Miles after Nemo

  1. I’m so impressed you still got your run in. Good for you.

    Poor lily, I hope she feels better.

    I’m home sick for the day. Flu or something. Fever, chills, and sore throat. Now I’m stressed because I’m behind at work. :(((

    Hey, I hung up my medals. I ordered a hanger like you have. Mine says “believe”

    Love ya.

    • Oh, I bet you have some nice shiny bling hanging on your medal holder.

      I hope you are feeling better soon. I absolutely hate being sick.

      If you’re by a computer today, read my LS entry. I miss you.

  2. Wow, you did a run after Nemo? We’re lucky if you can walk down a street here without falling into a snowbank! Gym was closed Sunday, but I’m sore from all the snowblower pushing and shoveling the 2-3 feet at our house. Hit the gym sunday and maybe today too… as long as the power doesn’t go out again!

    • I know you got hit with more snow than we did. Now, I don’t know if I’d be that daring to get a 20-miler in – though if I had the friends to go out with me, then I’d probably do it. My friends actually went running on Saturday morning. Now that is crazy!!!

      Ugh – I can’t believe you lost power. After Hurricane Sandy and not having power for 8-days, I don’t know if I could deal again…

      Glad you were all safe!!!

  3. Your friend is awesome for biking beside you! I wish I could have a lead cyclist on all my runs 😉 Good job getting it done in the snow – you are a trooper.

    If we had 14 inches of snow here the entire City would shut down for days – ha! Texans don’t know how to handle snow 🙂

    • I really did think of you at one point and even bragged about you to her, “Oh, my friend…” As if we’d be friends for ages. Wait, as if I’ve met you in person. I’m not really crazy. Just inspired by your accomplishments. 🙂

Leave a comment