Momma Guilt

Strength + Core: COMPLETED (Marathon Training Week #2)

Lili has been attached to me like you wouldn’t believe. She has given me a tough time everyday leading up to my Monday. Last week, because of her crazy doctor’s appointments, she came to work with me twice. She’s an absolute joy to have here at the office but I know her grandparents want to spend some time with her also. She basically cried herself to sleep last night and woke up crying some more.

Liliana: But mommy. I don’t want to go to Pop-pop, Mamala’s, Abo’s or Abi’s. I just wanna stay with you.

Me: I know. I’ll be busy today at work. Aunt Donna won’t be in and Aunt Pam (she calls my colleagues “aunt”) is just coming back from vacation so mommy will be very busy”.

Liliana: I promise I won’t bother you. I promise I won’t make you more busy. I won’t make any drawings for Aunt Pam or Aunt Donna. I will stay very quiet.

Breaks.My.Heart! It’s not only when it’s time to drop her off, but it has happened when she found out I had to a long run this weekend. Her response was, “But, I wanna come running…I’ll miss you!”.

Monday Blues

Monday Blues

I cried myself to work this morning. I know she’s fine and having fun but she really doesn’t make it easy for me. [P.S. yes, she’s wearing the same top from Thursday as I did all the laundry, LOL].

BUT, moving onto happier moments, like our weekend. We did have a great weekend. Of course it started with being stuck in traffic on Thursday afternoon. I ended up leaving early to take Lili to her allergist appointment.

Another Appointment?!?

Another Appointment?!?

Between giving blood on Monday, annual shots on Wednesday and allergist on Thursday, this girl has had enough with doctors. :-p She seems all healthy and ready to enjoy the summer.

We didn’t do much more on Thursday evening since we got home on the later side. We ate dinner, gave baths and put the kids down. On Friday morning, my sister canceled our long run to go to the beach. I can’t really blame her. It was a beautiful day. So the kids and I got ourselves together and headed over to the park for a run. And BTW, when she found out my long run was canceled, she was ECSTATIC. “YESSSS. I can come running with you now. Let’s go!”

Double Time

Double Time

Unfortunately, her idea of going running together is ME pushing her and her brother. Works out though. I get to spend time with my munchkins. No complaints here, except, it will definitely be difficult when it’s time to go for my LRs without her.

After we ran in the park a few times, (I did a 50-minute run: no watch/no music — just the kids and me), we stopped at the park.

Weeeee

Weeeee

Post-RUN-Fun

Post-RUN-Fun

The kids had fun but the spray-playground didn’t open yet so they played on the regular playground for almost an hour before I ran back to the car and then home. We got home and Lili did some school work, followed by lunch and a nap. When the kids woke up, we went food shopping and then the kids and I went back to the park. P was still finishing up the yard work and I didn’t want Lili out there with her allergies.

Back at the Park

Back at the Park

After, we did more walking and then headed home so I could start dinner. After dinner, we just hung around and watched TV.

Fourth of July was nice. We stayed in — our FAMILY TRADITION is relaxing (because every single weekend since MAY we have had something to do, we try to enjoy the month of July to ourselves and that starts with the FOURTH of JULY and our Twilight Zone Marathon, etc.). I was exhausted from the night before. I did do some baking in the AM. Lili helped bake a cake and I baked brownies.

Blueberries

Blueberries

Strawberries

Strawberries

Happy Birthday, America!

Happy Birthday, America!

I missed my morning run because P overslept. Oh well. He did make up for it though and later on he pushed me to go outside and run. Thank heavens. He really does love me. I was being a total tool (a/k/a a stink) and he turned my entire attitude around.

Heading out!!!!

Heading out!!!!

Okay,I’m totally NOT a later afternoon/evening runner — so I stayed on the track. Lili did 1/4 mile warm-up with me. She’s the best.

"Mommy, I'm gonna beat you!"

“Mommy, I’m gonna beat you!”

Her form is perfect.

Track Partner

Track Partner

Sebastian was being a handful so I told P that I was going to finish my 4-miles on the track and that he should just go walk with the kids in the jogger. He did just that and walked a few times around the outside of the track just watching me. After, Sebastian did a quick cool-down with me before we went for another walk.

COOL-DOWN

COOL-DOWN

We all went for a longer walk after and enjoyed the gorgeous weather.

At the Lake

At the Lake

Post-Run/Park walk, we picked up food and ate at home. We watched fireworks through our window but the kids were already asleep. They can’t stay up late enough to watch the fireworks.

The next morning, I ran my 8-miles on the tread. I showered, got the kids dressed and then headed over to the Christmas Tree Shop. When we got home, we ate lunch, kids napped and then P’s friend Pete came by. We were having a BBQ. My girlfriend, Rachel, stopped over also.

Aunt Rach & Kids

Aunt Rach & Kids

We all had a great time. Rachel stayed long enough to give the kids a bath, do a load of laundry and clean up. The kids went to bed and the boys watched the World Cup Finals. Go USA. 🙂

Our 4th was well spent and somewhat relaxing.

No Firecracker races for me. Mayhaps next year.

Who else does BBQs all summer long? I feel like it’s so much easier and who doesn’t like grilling???

Anybody else running NYC this year?

3 thoughts on “Momma Guilt

  1. Lili’s too cute for words! The nearest I get to a BBQ all summer is me grilling a veggie burger! P’s away most of the summer, so it’s just me and the cats and I prefer hanging out at home. I’m an exciting one!

Leave a Reply

