Gearing Up

I was looking at my calendar and realized that I start training for NYC in two weeks. The next two weeks are base training. I’ve been seriously laxed with my runs. Needless to say, I am pretty terrified of my training plan (especially in the dreadful heat/humidity of the summer). Anyway, just have to think positive thoughts.

The weekend was busy but good. I mean, I’m exhausted from having one event after the other. On Friday, I ran on the mill and then did a load of laundry, showered and S and I headed over to my in-laws to chat for a second. After, S and I went over to Party City to pick up something and then home. I was going to do returns at Target but he was so tired. I couldn’t do that to him. He napped real quick before we had to scoop up Lili and then we headed over to pick up my niece from school. The girls played while S was attached to my hip. He also played with Georgie (my sister’s dog).

Downward Dogs

Downward Dogs

We left later than I expected and then hit so much traffic as they were doing construction on the highway. When we got home, both kids were cranked out and knocked out.

Zzzzzzz

Zzzzzzz

As soon as they slept, I gave myself a mani/pedi. Then I called it a night.

The next morning I had a bunch of things to do. Run, feed kids, laundry, clean, put kids down for a nap, pump, and get ready for the 1990s party. I was only taking Lili with me because it was going to be too late to bring S. I cooked P dinner by 5:30, showered and we headed out by 6:10. I wanted to be there by 6, but it worked out.

LZA

LZA

The Birthday Gal and I

The Birthday Gal and I

We had planned to leave by 8, but time slipped away and ended up sliding out around 9:15 (and only because Sebastian was giving P a difficult time).

Sunday came and P invited his brother and the kids over last minute. This meant that I needed to run out and get groceries. I ended up picking up some dogs, burgers, snacks, etc. The kids had a great time.

The boys

The boys

The Girls

The Girls

P’s brother grilled and I was so busy running up and down to get a few things. It was nice though. They stayed for a few hours and then S was knocked out by 5:30PM.

Overall a great weekend. And now I’m tweaking my upcoming training plan. I might need to consult with my running coach.

What training plans do you use (or have you used)?

Favorite time to run of the year? Mine will always be fall. Best weather ever. Spring would be too if it weren’t for allergies.

2 thoughts on “Gearing Up

Leave a Reply

