Making it Work

I only had time for a 3-mile run this morning but I’ll take it. These days I can’t complain with whatever workout I get in. With an almost 20 month old toddler that is still nursing through the night (yes, he is not showing ANY SIGNS OF WEANING!), my sleep schedule is unpredictable. Anyhow, after my run both kids jumped on the treadmill with their reading materials.

happy Kids

happy Kids

Of course after, Lili turns to me and says, “Mom, you need a shower!” Yes, yes. I do. It’s crazy how much she’s grown and how conversations with her are on such an older level these days.

Tippy-Toes

Tippy-Toes

Getting back to ‘Making it Work’ — I wish I could say I have it altogether. I don’t though. Not even close. But here’s what I have:

1. AN AMAZING SUPPORT SYSTEM: My husband, even if he sleeps in on the weekends, is supportive of my running and will try to make things work for me when I’m feeling down about not being able to run or workout. Our parents, who babysit the kids during the week while we both work. It saves us so much money in daycare and the kids get to spend time with their grandparents.

2. MY JOB. There are times when I’m not sure if this is what I want to do for the rest of my life, BUT right now it’s the perfect place for me. While both of my kids are so young, the flexibility is amazing. I can schedule my lunches to pick up Lili from school and bring her back for the last two hours; I can run errands when I don’t have to pick her up and/or run. The only one downfall is that there are only two of us here and so we need to coordinate our days off — but that’s not really a huge problem.

3. MY SANITY (LEARNING TO ADJUST AND ACCEPT). This is really key and all that really matters. The chores can wait — well, unless if you’re down to your last pair of panties. Then it’s either make a stop at Target or do the laundry. Do I hate leaving dishes in the sink overnight? YES. It’s peeves me out, but that’s okay. I can do it later. What will make me happier? A workout or washing the dishes before work? P.S. THE WORKOUT ALWAYS WINS! I’ve learn to not leave laundry too long and try to at least get it done one extra day a week so I’m not overwhelmed on the weekend. Don’t lose sleep over missing a workout. It used to make me feel awful (and sometimes it still does) but you know what, my kids won’t be kids for too long. Soon enough they won’t even want me hanging out with them. So I will skip a workout to sit on the floor with them and play.

4. MY FRIENDS: I have a handful of close friends and that’s all I need. While we don’t get to see each other often, we keep in touch daily. Through the years, I’ve weeded out people and vice versa and there’s nothing wrong with that at all. People grow apart all the time. I think by this point in my life I know who my friends are and will be for the rest of my life. Just keep the negative ones away.

And there you have it. Sometimes you have to look at the glass as half full rather than half empty. I may not have it altogether, but I have all the important things in life that I need.

Now if I could get a RACE in this year… Babysteps.

What tips do you have for making it work? Share it with me, please!!!!

5 thoughts on “Making it Work

    • Thanks girlfriend. Right now, I’m just vicariously living through you and your runs/workouts/races. Maybe you can put my name on that BIB of yours next time. HA.

  1. This is a great post. I have a lot of friends who maintain families and run. I admire you amazing women for your time and dedication that you put into all aspects of your life.

    • Thank you so much. With my first baby, it was definitely easier to adjust with my training. With two, I’m still learning. I know it will get easier and I definitely don’t want to rush the time… That would mean the kiddos getting big too fast.

  2. I have no tips for making things work. I basically life in a foreign country away from family solo. It’s down to me to get everything done. P’s away most of the year and I live by one yoga guru’s Kathryn Budig’s quotes from one of her yogaglo.com classes: ‘Whatever needs to get done today, will’. It helps a great deal when I crash for 2 hours in the evening! Even with the help you get I still don’t know how you do it all! I have taken some of your life wisdom. If the cats want to snuggle or play, I snuggle or play. IG, dishes can wait!

Leave a Reply

