F is for…

Lili’s learning the letter “F” in school so I figured, let’s get a themed post together. I tried to compile my own list of “F”s. So here goes.

1. F is for FAMILY: Last week we celebrated my (not so) baby brother’s 26th birthday. He’s the reason I wanted babies in the first place. I used to sleep in the crib with him when my mom would leave for the hospital. I would change his diapers, go to his parent/teacher conferences, attend his concerts, pick him up and walk him home from school, taught him to drive, etc. We also celebrated his girlfriend, Mimi, for passing her NCLEX. She now officially a Registered Nurse. GOOD TIMES.

Birthday/NCLEX Celebrations

Birthday/NCLEX Celebrations

We also have an amazing nephew and niece on P’s side. Sabrina is now 14 turning 15 and starting her freshman year in high school this September. I can’t believe it. She’s an amazing STAR student. All advanced classes. She is also a cancer survivor. We love her to death. And Julian is on the football team and a great student in school as well. He just turned 11! Gosh, I can’t believe how grown they are and we are happy that they still enjoy doing our silly Easter events.

Contestants with their Host

Contestants with their Host

By the end of the game show, P’s wig was falling off. HA.

2. F is for FITTING IN FITNESS. It isn’t always easy fitting in my workouts but I try to do what I can these days. I thought by now, Sebastian would be more regular with his sleeping pattern, but I was wrong. So last night before I got dinner together, I did a workout while the kids watched Toy Story.

Working Out

Working Out

Lili joined in towards the end. And then I got dinner together. This morning, I did have time to run on the treadmill.

Tread/Speed Workout

Tread/Speed Workout

I did a speed workout. 🙂

3. F is for FOOD. I love food. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE. I bought raviolis from Trader Joe’s and it’s actually pretty good. B likes it. Even P liked it. I think I’ll have to buy more. P had leftovers.

Ravs

Ravs

And I know I promised Nat my chocolate cake recipe. I’m going to post it today.

Chocolate Cake

Chocolate Cake

4. F is for FRIENDS. I haven’t seen most of my friends in awhile, but I did get to see my soley last week as we met up at the track in our shammy shirts. We were celebrating our shammiversary. It was when she PR with a 3:42 marathon and I ran a marathon 12-weeks pregnant. Good times.

<3

And I'm currently scheduling plans with my other two close gals. My girlfriend's son, (my godson), turns 10 today which also means it's my girlfriend, Hazel's, 10 year anniversary as friends. Also, our good friend, Eric, (we're in a group text) just got promoted to Sous Chef at the country club. A lot to celebrate.

friends

The above pic was taken at my baby shower in May 2011.

And now the chocolate cake recipe. I got this from my girlfriend’s grandmother.

Nan’s Chocolate Cake Recipe

Ingredients (for cake):

2 cups of sugar
1 3/4 cups of all purpose flour
3/4 unsweetened Hershey’s Cocoa Powder
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 cup of milk
1/3 cup of vegetable oil
1 cup of boiling water
1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract

Ingredients for Frosting:

1 cup of confectioners sugar
1/2 cup of unsweetened Hershey’s cocoa powder
1 pint of heavy cream

Directions:

1. Preheat over 350. Grease and flour two 9-in round baking pans.

2. Combine the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder/baking soda and salt in bowl. Mix and then slowly add milk, oil and vanilla. Beat on low to medium speed for about 3 minutes. Slowly add in the boiling water. Pour the batter evenly into pans.

3. Bake for 30-35 minutes and cool for 10 minutes then remove onto a rack.

4. Once it is cool, use a long knife to cut as evenly as you, each cake to make 4 layers total. Make sure it’s completely cool before frosting.

Directions for Frosting:

Mix together the sugar, cocoa and add in slowly the creamer. Beat on medium for about 5 minutes or more until the liquid mix becomes more frosty like. (HAHA).

IMG_8033

I promise, it’s delicious. There wasn’t a lot leftover and my niece and nephew took a chunk home. We have our share in the fridge — but it might not last till tonight. 🙂

Do you have a yummy cake recipe? Share with me!!!!

2 thoughts on “F is for…

Leave a Reply

