Pre-Halloween Festivities

First of all, a HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to all that ran MCM (or any other races) this weekend, especially to my friends Erin and Chelsea. You girls rock. Can’t wait to read the race recap, Chels.

Secondly, I’m not sure if I am paranoid, but I feel like I’m beginning to lose some of my leg muscles just from being on a break (I can only tell because I’m losing weight and I’m not eating clean — so it has to be that I’m losing my muscle!). I’ve been doing some upper body strength and still laying off on the ankle as it’s healing up. I would love to be up and running in a week or so, but I am not rushing it. A full recovery is vital. I want to run and train hard and fast. So #1 here is feeling NO PAIN whatsoever. I think this means I will be running in the pool a lot + yoga + strength and core. I need to keep up my fitness so I can get back stronger.

And onto the weekend. On Friday, I drove Lili to school and then Sebastian and I went food shopping. After we dropped off everything, we headed home and unloaded. I fed him and then off to the doctor’s for his second flu shot. Since it’s his first one, he has to have them in two separate doses. Poor kid was just so tired but we were visiting my girlfriend, Jacquie, who can give birth any day now… We stayed for about two hours and then headed over to pick up Lili from school. Unfortunately, someone fell asleep on the ride there.

Nap Time

Nap Time

By the time we got home, he was all sorts of cranked out. We watched some Frozen and I gave them snacks. Then I put him down to take a nap. When he woke up, I fed them dinner and then cleaned up. We had a busy day the next day. I was exhausted so P helped with bath time. We read books and then off to bed.

Saturday, we woke up early and had breakfast #1. I got Lili ready for dance class and then P woke up to watch Sebastian.

Queen Elsa ready for Dance

Queen Elsa ready for Dance

She was so excited to dress up for class.

Dance Friends

Dance Friends

The kids were adorable. After dance class, I headed over to the bagel shop with one of the moms I met through class. Her daughter, Ava, was also Queen Elsa and is just stinkin’ cute. We ordered breakfast #2 and then headed home. We fed kids, P showered and then we headed over to the Halloween Parade at the library.

Parade Time

Parade Time

Playing Blocks

Playing Blocks

Story Time

Story Time

Me with Olaf

Me with Olaf

We had so much fun!!!! We stayed about an hour and a half and then headed home. Kids needed to nap and then when they woke up, we ate — again — then off to the pumpkin patch.

Picking out Pumpkins

Picking out Pumpkins

Sibs

Sibs

<3

We picked out the pumps then headed over to Target for a few things.

We Love Target

FINALLY, after two hours of being out, we headed home to start some Halloween festivities. I made some popcorn, put some Halloween music on and had some fun.

I got this mom...

I got this mom…

Painting Pumpkins

Painting Pumpkins

Cheeeeese

Cheeeeese

And finally….

Jack-o-Lantern

Jack-o-Lantern

We love Halloween. Anyhow, the kids had a late bath and then off to bed. We were tired.

The next morning, we woke up later than usual for breakfast. I baked a banana bread and washed the dishes. Lili wanted to watch TV but first I made her do some school work. She had to practice writing some letters that she learned last week.

Homework Time

Homework Time

Sebastian went down for a nap and while he napped, I put some chicken wings in the slow cooker and then prepped a lasagna for dinner. P’s best friend, Pete, was coming over for dinner. Around noon, S woke up and then I got them ready to head over to the local fair.

Best Friends

Best Friends

Hanging with the Jabs

Hanging with the Jabs

Me and My Girl

Me and My Girl

And my GUY

And my GUY

We got home around 2:30 and worked on some crafts. Then we just hung out while I cleaned and did laundry. P’s friend came around 5 and I started dinner. The rest of the evening was just spent giving the kids a bath, getting the kids ready for tomorrow and folding laundry.

I have so many shows to catch up on DVR. Revenge and Grey’s. What shows do you watch or DVR?

How many gyms to you belong to? How much is your gym membership?
I am loking to join the Y. Still debating.

5 thoughts on “Pre-Halloween Festivities

  1. I think it’s a good decision for you to stay off the ankle & let it heal properly. I was cleared to workout about 2 weeks ago & I’ve been taking it slow too, I’ve been doing piyo, strength, & started jogging on the treadmill with those apps that train you for a 5k because when it comes to running I have to start from the very beginners level, you know I could never stick to running, not my thing. Then I restart every so often cuz I really want to fall in love with it, has not happened to date LOL. I so agree with the weight loss thing!! These past 4 months I couldn’t work out I lost weight while eating super dirty lol, these past 2 weeks I started working out & not eating clean but wayyy better than before, up 3 lbs! ugh which i hate but whatever my measurements shrank already so I’ll stick to that. I LOVEEEEE Lili & Bas pics, they’re too stinking cute! Oh and as for shows DVRd…I Love TV! LOL so I swear I DVR like 50 shows (not all in the same season of course but in total. I have some questions & stuff so I will be emailing you, look out for it! Love you!

    • Seriously, isn’t it weird the way the body works? You work out so hard and eat so right and that’s the when the scale is not going YOUR way. But then you get injured and you eat crap and WTH? The scale’s going down? HUH?@$@%#$ I need to get back on the ball. I am so glad that you finally did get the OKAY to workout. I can’t believe it’s been 4 months!! Holy crap. Are you back at work? Miss you.

  2. That sounds like a good rehab/recovery plan! I did much the same with my ankle and achilles problems, except I cycled not swam! I kept my workouts basic to being with, but the worst bit was the itchy knees and legs when I got back to running and working out. They weren’t used the workload!

    I saw on @lifeannstyle on IG some amazing Halloween DIY Craft ideas. She was on the Today Show yesterday, but you can workout how she did the Mummy candle holders. I thought maybe Lili (Mama) might like to make them!

    • Thanks Nat!!! I will definitely have to follow that IG account. We absolutely love DIY crafts (which I know you know!!).

      It’s been over two weeks now and I’ve been super good. I still can’t believe I injured myself this badly before a marathon. It’s so not like me. Sheesh. I mean, I get sick and all, and actually last March (before the Shamrock Marathon) I was having issues with my Tailor’s Bunion. But it worked out just fine. I can’t believe it. I think it’s for the best though. I am just happy that I can run it in 2015 and next time I will be SUPER careful.

Leave a Reply

