Indian Summer: Part I

Easy Run – COMPLETED

I got to run at lunch on a nice day since my in-laws will be picking up Lili from school. I’ll miss seeing her face for sure but I’ll take advantage by getting my run on. It’s one of my favorite ways to start the week off. I was also able to prep tonight’s dinner this morning! I’m on a roll so far.

The weekend was long and fun. I figured I should break it down in two parts because even for myself it’s too much to write. My weekend started right at 2:00PM Wednesday afternoon. I scooped Lili up from school and headed over to pick up the munch-man. We hung out for there for about a half hour before heading home. I prepared dinner on the earlier side because I wanted to get the kids in the bath and in bed as I had plans with the girls. It worked out to perfection. They ate, had their bath and were both tucked in and snoozing by 7:50PM. I couldn’t have timed in more perfect. I got ready and headed out to my girlfriend’s house by 8:45 (first got gas) and Cici was already there.

It was a great night. We even had a nice spread.

Dip, Veggies, Crackers

Dip, Veggies, Crackers

We chatted and painted and chatted and painted… It was so much fun.

Danielle's new work.

Danielle’s new work.

Cici's Butterfly

Cici’s Butterfly

1st paint night

1st paint night

Cici acting cray-cray

Cici acting cray-cray

We finished up around 11:30 and then just chatted while cleaning up before parting ways.

The Finished Products

The Finished Products

We already set up next month’s paint night. I’m so looking forward to it.

Thursday morning, we woke up to a very dark and gloomy day. It was 100% rain all day. Boo.

Rainy Look

Rainy Look

I did see that there was a story/craft at the library, but not till 1:30. I knew my niece was also at my parents house, so we headed over to their house after breakfast. It was drizzling a bit so while the kids played with each other, I went for a wet run.

Rainnnnnny Runnnnn

Rainnnnnny Runnnnn

It was supposed to be a tempo run, but I just couldn’t get it together. But I’ll take the 7.5-miles and call it a day. I got back to my parents house at around 1:10, took a quick shower, changed and headed down the street to the library with all three kiddos.

Story Time

Story Time

The book that Ms. Barbara read was about a kid who got his first library card. So after story time, the kids made their own library card holder.

thurs craft

Scarlett working hard

Scarlett working hard

thurs craft 5

Library Card Holder

Library Card Holder

<3

❤

Sebastian was getting fussy so after they were done, I let them play for a few more minutes and then we headed home. I took a nap with the kids and then we stopped at my in-laws for a farewell dinner for her sister and brother-in-law. My mother-in-law really made a wonderful dinner: Turkey, Green Beans, Mashed and Sweet Potatoes, Corn, Cranberries, homemade Sangria. It was a preview of Thanksgiving Dinner.

Turkey
thurs dinner 5thurs dinner 4thurs dinner 1thurs dinner 2

After dinner, we headed home, gave the kids a bath and put them down to sleep. I fell asleep with them as well.

Friday morning, we woke up, ate breakfast, I did two loads of laundry, showered and then we headed over to my girlfriend’s house for a play-date. It was long overdue. The kids were so excited to see each other.

BFFs

BFFs

Pumpkin Painting Fun

Pumpkin Painting Fun

fri playdate 3

fri playdate 4

Of course, Sebastian took forever to nap and right before we were planning to leave, he passes out. I didn’t want to move him, so we let the girls play once more and let him sleep till he woke up (which was an hour later). We were finally heading out by 3pm and then we went food shopping. I had originally planned to go before heading home then changed my mind because I thought it would be too much on Lili since she hadn’t napped, but when we got into the car, she suggested it. So we got it out of the way.

Sebastian: I WANNNNA DRIVEEEEEE

Sebastian: I WANNNNA DRIVEEEEEE

Lili had a blast shopping. I cannot say the same for Sebastian. We were home by 4 and EXHAUSTED!!!! I knew Lili would be tired as well, so I made our dinner, we ate, bathed and out by 7:30… again. HA! After they slept, I prepared all the major necessities for my 20-mile run with Cici the next day. But that post will come tomorrow. The “real” weekend was jam-packed with a long run, picnic, festival, hayrides, more pumpkin painting, etc.

Anybody else go pumpkin picking yet? How about apple picking? Or is that too early still? Pumpkin/Apple Pie Recipes to share???

Have you ever been to one of those paint/wine places? They are so popular around here — I’ve never actually been to one but I like the set up we have now. Our friend D is awesome (and her husband is actually an awesome running coach).

One thought on “Indian Summer: Part I

Leave a comment