Another Great Weekend

3.1- Mile Run – PENDING COMPLETED

The weekends (even if I have 3-day weekends) go by way too fast. We had yet another great weekend. I didn’t have to leave the house too early on Friday morning; I had to stop at my in-law’s house at 11ish, so I made us breakfast, ordered our groceries online and then showered. We left the house at around 10:30.

I had to run an errand with my FIL. Lili decided to join us while Sebastian stayed with my MIL.

No pics, please...

No pics, please…

Afterwards, we decided to have lunch. It was Sebastian’s first time out to eat since he’s been born and he did wonderful.

Yeah mom... drink up that milkshake.  I'll be having some later.

Yeah mom… drink up that milkshake. I’ll be having some later.

The Sanchez Boys

The Sanchez Boys

We parted ways from the diner because my in-laws at an eye doctor appointment down the street. The kids and I had a play date with my girlfriend’s kids but they ended up being sick. So we went home and I put them down for a nap. When I got home, I sent Tamar a message — I had sent her a message the night before asking her if she’d want to run after work but apparently she never received it. She was having issues with her phone. We finally did get in touch and set plans for a run at 4. It would be Sebastian’s first run in the jogger. When Lili did wake up, she felt a tad warm, so I was going to cancel, but then we checked her temp a few times after and she was fine. I’m glad we did not miss out because the weather was absolutely gorgeous.

Double Jogger Run

Double Jogger Run

What a great run we had. I was shocked our first mile was 9:42 min/mi. Tamar offered to take the jogger a few times too so we did a bit of a tag-team. Good times. It was Tamar’s first time meeting Sebastian so she was thrilled. Lili, of course, LOVES seeing Titi.

Titi and Lili initiating Sebastian

Titi and Lili initiating Sebastian

Tamar topped it off with 7-miles and the kids and I at 6-miles. I am happy that Sebastian lasted the entire ride. He didn’t cry ONCE. Lili did whine about stopping at the park twice. I would have taken her after but it was already 6 by then. Sebastian was up the first 1.5-miles and then fell asleep the rest of the way. He woke up when we got home. As soon as I got home, I fed him and then Lili and I played before I started dinner. We ate, everyone had a bath and then I put them down to sleep.

I had plans to run with Tamar but wasn’t sure what time it would be. Unfortunately, P woke up not feeling too well, so I let him just rest. By late afternoon, he felt much better. The kids and I hung out the entire day doing a few activities. I made popcorn and watched a movies with Lili while giving her a pedi. She has been asking for some nail polish. P disapproves but he let us do this as an activity.

Pretty Toes

Pretty Toes

P was able to do a few things in the house and I did some yoga with the kids.

Yoga Baby

Yoga Baby

Lili really has improved with her yoga. It’s really fun to watch her. I made dinner and the regular routine before calling it a night. P and I watched Breaking Bad and I fell asleep close to midnight. I was exhausted.

Yesterday morning, I woke up so early and started my day.  It was my brother’s 25th birthday.

His girlfriend surprised him on a weekend getaway to CT. He had no idea, in fact, he thought they were going to Boston. She pulled it off. We will be celebrating later on this week.

Happy 25th Birthday

Happy 25th Birthday

I went to early mass, came home and decided to make banana bread. Then I thought about prepping some foods for the week. I seasoned pork chops, prepared my mac & cheese (just needs to be baked), seasoned chicken for dinner, prepared stuffed peppers for P, baked energy bars and washed dishes. Then I made pancakes, sausages, eggs and turkey bacon for breakfast. WHAT.A.MORNING!!!

Stuffed Peppers

Stuffed Peppers

Mini Banana Loaves & Energy Bars

Mini Banana Loaves & Energy Bars

Keyri, I know you’re reading and waiting for the recipe. I will post it just for you this week. They’re so easy and yummy.

Mac & Cheese

Mac & Cheese

I did have to stop in between to change diapers, entertain Lili, feed the baby — so there were breaks.

Ballerina Babe

Ballerina Babe

By the time that was all done, the kids were ready for a nap. I tried to put them down and then saw what time it was — so P took over and I left to meet Celeste and Coda at the trail. Initially, she wasn’t sure whether she’d go to the early trail run — I knew I wouldn’t be able to make it at that time. So we both decided afternoon would work best.

Cici & Coda

Cici & Coda

We did the big loop of the trail, which turned out to be around 6-miles. I forgot how much I love the trails and how hard it is, but WOW. I feel strong already. When we got out of the trails, we still had 2-miles to go. So we did 4 loops around the parking lot instead of going back into the trail. We were both feeling sluggish and slow, but Cici suggested I hit my pace for the last mile. I wasn’t really feeling it but she gave me a pep talk and told me something I needed to hear. She is so wise. She really does believe in me — as corny as that sounds, it really is what I need in my life.  She said she’d start off with me and that she may need to stop but I should keep going. So we did just that and can I just say, she’s right. Abso-freaking-lutely right. I finished the last mile at an 8:36 min/mi and kept going even faster… it felt good.

8-mile trail

8-mile trail

It was a great run with my solemate. We both had runner’s high and felt fabulous.

Solemates & Coda's first group run

Solemates & Coda’s first group run

I did get a few pic texts from P playing with the kids.

Happy Baby

Happy Baby

Mommy's shoes look better on me.

Mommy’s shoes look better on me.

As soon as I got home, I fed baby, ate a late lunch and prepared something for Lili and P, started getting dinner together and then showered. Lili and I painted and then we got dinner together.

Lili's painting

Lili’s painting

If you look closely, doesn’t it look like a profile of an old man? His nose is blue, the mouth, and the brown part away from his face looks like his finger touching his lip, like an expression, “Hmmm…” Pedro’s father’s side is very artistic, so maybe she will inherit that trait.

We ate, I put a load of laundry in, gave kids a bath and then put them to sleep. I folded two loads, picked out their clothes for the week and work clothes. Also, packed my running clothes, etc.

Clothes for the Week

Clothes for the Week

I know I say this all the time but seriously… how is it possible to always have loads of LAUNDRY???

Pedro made me late to work this morning.  It’s the last week where we will need to separate the kids twice a week. My mom returns from the motherland on Thursday.  I’m thrilled.  While P was getting ready for work, Lili and I were taking Monday morning selfies.

#mondayselfies

#mondayselfies

We have too much time on our hands… I know this.

How often do you hit the trails?  I’m hoping after Sunday’s run, I will be able to visit the trails more often.

What did you cook this weekend? or did you eat out? I’m excited to eat out this weekend at my favorite restaurant.

What talents do you wish you had? or do you have? I wish I could play an instrument, specifically the violin.  And I wish I could paint.  I will practice this one when I have more time on my hands.

I better get some work done. I’m running at 1pm today.  I have a few errands to do during the week too, i.e. preparing Sebastian’s favors for his Baptism, buying him a suit, figuring out what I’ll be wearing (which I would love your opinions. I’ll post tomorrow!).

Happy Monday!

5 thoughts on “Another Great Weekend

    • YESSSS! I did see this and funny thing is three of my friends posted of this on my wall on FB and commented, “I thought of you and Lili”. HAHAHA. Like I told my one girlfriend, I’m flattered and wish we could be this good. Practice makes perfect, right?

  1. I swear your kids get cuter + cuter by the picture + I think Lili looks older this week than last! Yes can’t wait for the recipe. I want to try these flourless brownies made with black beans, the reviews say it’s not dry + crumbly like other black beans brownies. I didn’t cook this weekend 😦 no time! I ate out but off the “healthy menu” today I’m making turkey burgers sans bun for me 😦 + tomorrow Mongolian beef! Edwin loves all my Asian recipes lol. I want to try something new this wknd, it’s called dirty brown rice with shrimp but I’m allergic to shrimp sooo I bought andouille sausage to give it a jambalaya like twist, it’s “dirty” bcuz it has ground turkey in it + other spices, etc. Ummmm I wish I had a talent period, I have none lol this girl is talentless! But if I had to pick 1 I really don’t know what it’ll be.

    • Okay, so are we going to see some after pics of you soon? How is 21 doing? I want to know!!! I’m so excited to see results. I wish I could be more disciplined but I just can’t seem to find that middle ground. I can workout/run but eating — it isn’t the way it used to be when I was more determined and focused. You need to email me more of the 21 day program you are doing. I *think* I’d like to join the movement. Miss you and let’s get together soon.

Leave a Reply

