Let’s Try this Again!

3-Mile Lunch Run – PENDING – COMPLETED

It only took me SIX years to finally run (hopefully run, I should say) NYC Marathon.

NYC MARATHON 2014

NYC MARATHON 2014

Since 2009, I have signed myself up for the lottery and after three years of “rejection”, I was guaranteed to run 2012. I was supposed to run this one with Cici, but then if we all remember, Hurricane Sandy had other plans. When I had to make a choice in early 2013 with an option of running it in either 2013, 2014 or 2015, I knew I wanted to try for baby #2, so I declined 2013 with hopes that I would get knocked up fast and signed up as a guaranteed entry in 2014. Here’s the thing, if you “defer” you still have to pay the full amount. Not cool! Today was my last day to make the decision of whether I would run or just try for the 9+1 (run 9 NYRR races + 1 volunteer). Realistically, this would be a difficult task for me with two kids. So, I bit the bullet and after going through all my options, I knew (and discussed same with P) that now is the time to run this marathon. It’s a once-in-a-lifetime marathon. The energy is amazing and while it’s pricey ($266 if you’re not a NYRR member and $227 if you are a member), the experience is unforgettable. So there you have it. It looks like I’m running a marathon this year after all.

I still need to sign up for the half-marathon this Spring, but I still have time for that (probably with next week’s paycheck! NYC really hurt!).

And on another note — my two non-Irish kids from last night.

Happy St. Paddy's Day

Happy St. Paddy’s Day

Since we’re not Irish, my husband did not get lucky last night. 😛

Lili had extra hats that Cici gave to us so she brought them over to her grandparents this morning.

Top 'O the Morning to ya, lads and lassies!

Top ‘O the Morning to ya! O’Sanchez Fam

Did you wear green yesterday? I didn’t but the kids did.

What’s the most you’ve paid for a marathon? (Not including travel, hotel, etc. Just the marathon itself!).

Anybody watch DWTS? I didn’t get a chance. I fell asleep a tad early.

Alright, well, I better work, pump and run, and YES, in that exact order. Happy Tuesday.

8 thoughts on “Let’s Try this Again!

    • I hope it works out too. I’m dreading the summer heat training, but I won’t think about it till it gets here. I’ll definitely need your words of wisdom and motivation, i.e., “STOP BEING A WUSS??? YOU CALL THAT MUGGY WEATHER!!! COME TO TX!” Then I’ll suck it up. HAHA

    • Yes. I mean, we don’t go crazy like we do with Valentine’s Day and give out chocolates or make cupcakes… We just enjoy the day with some GREEN. I didn’t even have a drink… I’ll have to make up for that this weekend. HA.

Leave a Reply

