Working Doubles

7:15 AM: Chalean Push Circuit I – COMPLETED

Happy Monday! It’s the first time this season that I was actually hoping for a snow day. I just needed an extra day to recuperate — but I am feeling a lot better at least. I was just dreading leaving the house in the cold. At least it didn’t snow bad out. Just a light coating to the point where I did not have to brush any snow off my car. I did, however, have to drop Lili off because P wasn’t ready this morning on time. It’s another work day (today and tomorrow) with Sebastian.

20140303-122247.jpg

So yeah, by working doubles I mean, working my F/T job and taking care of my son at the same time. It’s going to be a wacky week. I’m going to be taking him tomorrow and then leaving a tad early on both Wed. and Thurs. My in-laws return Wed, my mom left late last night for the motherland and schedules are just clashing. I can’t wait until April when things are back into normal (until someone takes another vacation! Hopefully that will be US!).

Baby is latched on under my nursing gown so here I am trying to get a post in. For the most part, it was a low-key weekend of trying to heal. I did run on the mill on Saturday and that was even tough to do. After, I was just tired and not well — I took a LONG nap with the kids. Pedro did 4 loads of laundry. Can you believe it? HA. I did cook dinner. I revisited this pork chop recipe in OJ that we killed and for the side, I made “smashed” potatoes. It was my first time making and it came out to-die-for!!!

20140303-122638.jpg

I used my tools from Spain (mortar and pestle and oil holder from my in-laws).

20140303-122812.jpg

Basically, I just boiled small red potatoes with garlic cloves for about 30-35 minutes (till tender), then took a cookie sheet and drizzled a generous amount of olive oil onto the sheet. I smashed the potatoes with a potato masher, lightly salted it. With the pestle and mortar, I pounded garlic cloves up and then drizzled olive oil. I brushed the potatoes with same and then sprinkled with salt and pepper. Baked in the oven for 15-20 minutes (or until nice and golden brown) and voila.

20140303-123036.jpg

We killed the entire meal. There were no leftovers whatsoever. It’ll be in the rotation. After dinner, I cleaned up, gave the kids a bath and put them to sleep. I was tired myself so called it a very early night.

The baby did NOT sleep well, so I was up a lot. When he woke up for good, I baked banana bread. I used our regular recipe, but this time, I substituted greek yogurt instead of using olive oil, and whole wheat flour instead of white flour. It came out good. I ate some with peanut butter. I made mini-loaves too. They’re so much cuter.

20140303-123312.jpg

Lili woke up at some point while I was baking and helped out. We played and hung out, the usual. They refused a nap and by 3pm, I started prepping an early dinner. Yvette sent me a recipe that I decided to try and used some modifications. It’s a mexican casserole dish — and I added some tortilla chips.

20140303-123452.jpg

It came out tasty, but I’m missing something — just one little thing. I’ll need to perfect this recipe in the future.

After dinner, we just hung out. P did a few things around the house and then I gave the kids a bath around 7:30. They were both knocked out by 8. I knew that was going to happen since they both had no naps. No complaints here. P and I watched two episodes of Breaking Bad before I called it a night.

As for half-marathon training, I completed 3 runs last week and 1 day of strength. I took advantage of it being the first week and being sick, so hopefully this week will be a better week. I did do my strength and plan to run tomorrow. I doubt I will get any outdoor runs in until the weekend though. With the work schedule being wacky this week, it’s going to be tough. We’ll see.

What’s your favorite kitchen gadget/tool to use? I think mine would be the blender. I have a ninja and use it pretty often for soups, banana breads, etc.

Did anyone watch the Oscars? I was sad for Leonardo, but love Matthew. Who here loves j-law? She’s cute, but a tad annoying to me at times.

Hope everyone has a lovely start to the week.

2 thoughts on “Working Doubles

    • I DID TOO!!!! I’m actually looking forward to going to a wedding in the fall because I want to get all dressed up like I’m going to the Oscars. HA.

Leave a Reply

