Motivation Monday

9:15 AM: 2-Mile Walk on inclines: COMPLETED

10:45 AM: Chalean Extreme Burn Circuit 1: COMPLETED

I took a rest day yesterday and had a list of things I wanted to get done. Unfortunately, I was too tired for that too. Oh well. I had a great time with my babies so that’s the most important thing.

I was in touch with my OB/GYN who messaged me saying, “I have to check your Instagram to make sure you’re behaving and not racing!” Ha. I’ve been good but I won’t lie; I feel more than ready to hit the pavement and run!  But I’ll wait the 8-days till I get cleared. I did ask her that since my B/P went down if I could do weights and she said as long as they’re light weights I can get back into it. Thank goodness.

My diet hasn’t been the greatest so starting today I am behaving myself. Time to stop with the chocolates, sweets, chips, etc.  I need to get back to racing weight. Speaking of racing, here’s my accomplishments when pregnant with Sebastian. (and hopefully my “Monday motivation” to whip me back into shape!).

ImageIt took 7-races and 736-(pregnant) running miles to meet our little Sebastian Daniel.

From L-R: Shamrock Marathon @12-weeks 4:14; Summit Our House 5-miler at 18-weeks; Brooklyn Half Marathon @20-weeks 2:11; Run for Jaycees 5-k with Lili in Jogger @26-weeks 30:15; Amber Pizzo 5k @28-weeks with Lili in jogger 31 min; 4th of July 5k @29-weeks w/ Lili in jogger 31-min.;Crossroads 5k @35-weeks 32-min. My last run was 09/09/13, right before my 37-week visit when my BP was still too high and I was told to stop running till I received my results back from my Urinalysis.  I was induced the next day after.

I was in incredible running shape even at 12-weeks. I was still training for a sub-4 marathon and was ready for it. Unfortunately, anything can happen on race day.  I’m happy that I was able to finish and that I ran almost till the day I delivered. I was blessed to be able to run and workout as much as I wanted for both pregnancies.

And now it’s time to buckle down and get back to racing speed. I don’t have any upcoming races but would like to see a half marathon early 2014. The only marathon lined up is NYC next November. I’m not sure if I’ll try to sneak one in this Spring. I do see a 5k mid October that I’d like to run for fun (and to see where I’m at).

How do you get motivated? How often do you set goals? 

3 thoughts on “Motivation Monday

  1. You are so awesome! That’s a lot of races. I love to race and run but also cross training keeps me sane so I don’t run myself into the ground. You are going to be back up and running in no time soon!!

    • 9 DAYS… I keep doing the chant. I feel physically ready but I’m one of those, follow my OB/GYN’s orders. I usually don’t when it comes to injury but for some reason, I listen to whatever she says.. LOL

      Happy MONDAY!!! And I know when you decide to have a baby, you’ll be racing like cray cray.

Leave a Reply

