Run Down

12:00 PM: 3.75-Mile Run – COMPLETED

What.A.Week. Last Thursday, I never got my run in because my dad called and said that he was getting admitted into the hospital so they had to drop Lili off at my job. I knew that there was a possibility this might happen, but didn’t think it was a high percentage. I was obviously not prepared — no food, no activities, etc. The office next door does have milk and in my car, I had a baby blanket of hers.

Eating & Napping

Eating & Napping

She did absolutely well and was so well-behaved. I couldn’t have asked for a better day with her. I didn’t get to work much at first, but once she went down for a nap, we were good to go. I knew I’d need coverage for tomorrow though because my dad would still be in the hospital and my SIL was available to babysit for half a day. It worked out perfect. And, of course, Lili got paid for working.

Money in my Piggy

Money in my Piggy

I was exhausted by the time I got home. We ended up picking up food. I ate as soon as I got home and then gave Lili a bath and got her ready for bed. Then I got in contact with my mom and ended up leaving to go visit my dad at the hospital. I was there from 8-11. Needless to say, I was exhausted. I woke up the next morning and did NOT do a thing. A rest day was certainly needed.

I worked half a day and then headed home. My SIL and I chatted a bit before they left and Lili finally went down for a nap after they left. Pedro got home and we hung out and when she woke up, Lili and I baked cookies for my dad and finished up her get well card.

Freshly Baked Cookies

Freshly Baked Cookies

We ended up getting to the hospital close to 6pm. We waited for my mom to meet us and got him a balloon at the gift store.

Bounce Back Soon

Bounce Back Soon

Lili was so good. She hugged her Pop-Pop and did not get fussy one bit. Pedro and her took a walk to the cafeteria for some snacks. We stayed till about 8:45 and left with my mom. When we got home, I gave Lili a bath (lots of germs in the hospital). Then I laid out running clothes and hung out with P for a bit before calling it a night.

Saturday morning, I woke up close to 7:15 and got ready for our run. Tamar was running late too which worked our perfectly. Lili and I got started with almost half a mile before Tamar came down the hill. We then ventured onto our long run. I brought her a GU to try and told her to test it at about mile 8 so that if it didn’t settle right, we were almost done with the run. I was being ambitious thinking I could do maybe 12, but yeah, 10 was all I had in me.

10.15-Mile Run with the Gang

10.15-Mile Run with the Gang

After our run, I noticed P’s car was gone. I knew he was going to bring it to the shop for repairs and then walk home so Lili and I started walking towards the shop and called him but he said he was already at the diner across the street from the shop, so Lili and I hopped into the car and met him there for breakfast.

Post Long Run Breakfast

Post Long Run Breakfast

I ended up eating half my eggs and half a sausage. But had an entire fresh bowl of strawberries.

Berries

Berries

When we were done, we headed home. I showered and tried to put Lili down for a nap but she wasn’t having it. By 1pm, I was in touch with my brother and his girlfriend and they were heading to the hospital to visit my dad, so Lili had to skip out on a nap and we headed over to the hospital. I ended up driving. Pedro was doing yard work and had to wait for his car to be fixed. We were at the hospital from about 1:20-4:30 before Lili started getting CRANKY. I knew she was tired. She hadn’t taken a nap and fell right to sleep as soon as I pulled into the driveway. Not fun. I put her back down when we got home (not a good time for a nap) and then ate something with Pedro.

By 6:30, Lili woke up. I made her something to eat, let her play and then gave her a bath. Then I ended up getting tired myself and then feeling sick. I ended up vomiting. My stomach was just feeling awful. I tried to sleep it off — and that helped.

I woke up around 6, then again at 7. By 7:15, Lili and I were up and out of bed. I wrote out a food shopping list and we headed to Whole Foods and Target. We were home by 9:45 and P helped me put the groceries away. Then we all ate breakfast together and P pulled the tread out for me.

I ran 1.5-miles then did weights. P showered, I showered and then we headed out to the record store and running store.

Ready to Dig

Ready to Dig

She looks cranky in that pic because she fell asleep in the car and I stayed with her for an hour till she woke up.

Summit Running Group

Summit Running Group

I saw this sign and it made me miss Fall marathon training. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Anyway, after the running store, we decided to call it an afternoon and picked up burgers at the Cranford Hotel. When we got home, I was exhausted… again! Good news is my dad was released! Bad news is, he smoked a cigarette as soon as he got home. Not good.

Anyway, at around 5pm, Pedro said he wanted to stop at Ikea so I tried to peel myself off the bed and grab a second wind. Thank goodness it happened. I was soaking beans all morning and started making my Caldo Gallego. Oh, and I wanted to make ham for the week as well — so I put that into the slow cooker.

Then I decided to bake more cookies for the kids and oh yeah, a pie since I had bought all this fruit. I didn’t have a blueberry pie, but found on All Recipes. I had an apple pie recipe already — I decided to use my split-decision pie pan.

Cookies

Cookies

Apple or Blueberry Pie?

Apple or Blueberry Pie?

Yummmmm

Yummmmm

Believe it or not, I did not eat a bite of any of these goodies. Am I good or am I good? The Caldo Gallego and Ham were done later.

Caldo Gallego

Caldo Gallego

It was well after 8:15 and I had to give Lili a bath. I gave her a bath, put her pajamas on and put her to sleep. It was about 8:45 by the time she was tucked in. At this point, I put away all the food into tupperware and cleaned up. Then I cleaned up the living room and took out all the activities that Lili could work on with my SIL and the kids.

Activities Galore

Activities Galore

There’s lot of painting, play doh, coloring, etc. I bought masks and canvas so they could do whatever they want. I wrote out a long note for my SIL and left her money for food in case she didn’t want to eat whatever I bought. I had fresh fruits, pizza from Wholefoods that they could just put in the oven, yogurts, pre-made salads, etc.

I woke up this morning later than I wanted to wake up. I wanted to not only prepare breakfast but I wanted to work out. Unfortunately, I only got to prepare food. I prepped tonight’s dinner: Meatloaf and peeled the potatoes. Then I made some rice in the rice cooker for Lili and baked homemade banana bread.

Lili was ready for her Tia and primos.

Monday's Agenda

Monday’s Agenda

Anyhow, the other Paralegal is out of the office this week so it’s just me, myself and I — and therefore, I usually don’t take lunches out of the office (which means no workouts out of the office), BUT big boss is out in Long Island for golf, which means, I get to run at lunch. I’m happy because I honestly thought I wasn’t going to get a workout in.

I’m gonna get dressed in a few and hit the pavement. I need a good run.

What’s your favorite dessert? Do you like pie? Ice-cream on top?

4 thoughts on “Run Down

  1. Reading your blog post was enough to exhaust me…how the heck did you fit it all in and have the energy to pull it off? Keep taking care of you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Gina. These days, when Lili goes down for a nap, I’m usually right by her side napping. HAHA. Hope you are adjusting to two babies!!! I’ll have to come to you for advice. I’ll need it for sure.

Leave a Reply

