Rethinking this Tank

7:00 AM: Core/Stretch – COMPLETED

Weekend was low-key and filled with almost 2-hours of weights/core + a 20-mile run. The run went pretty well, though, it was intense with hills, especially the hill at mile 14 into 15 with an elevation gain of 245. We just kept climbing and climbing and climbing. I swear, I wanted to die. Our pace took a decrease and by that time, it was time for MMP. We gradually picked it up though. Here are the last 5-miles at MMP.

Mile 16: 9:08 min/mi
Mile 17: 8:39 min/mi
Mile 18: 8:49 min/mi
Mile 19: 8:42 min/mi
Mile 20: 8:40 min/mi

I can’t complain. It was mentally and physically tough but we got it through. The only thing I can hope for is that all this hill training will make Shamrock’s flat course seem like (pan)cake. And now, it’s time to taper.

How do you taper? Do you actually do shorter miles? Celeste’s plan is to do 12-16 miles on Sunday and then 10-12 miles the following. Then it’s marathon day. Do you think that’s too much for taper?

Oh, and the tank is in. I’m not sure if I’m feeling it?!? I was, but it’s on the loose side. What do you think? It’s a size small.

tank 1

tank 2

A keeper or keep on looking?

4 thoughts on “Rethinking this Tank

  1. I lovelovelove the skirt! We were almost twinkies 🙂 My advice is just to not overdo anything during the marathon taper. I ran 10 miles a week before my race and the week prior I took it reeeal easy. Store up those energy reserves as much as you can!

    • Thanks for your advice. I think I’m going to listen to it closely. I think doing 16-miles two weeks before the marathon is insane. In fact, I’m usually tapering 3-weeks before the marathon… So this 20 was a bit delayed.

      While I was looking to sub-4, I think I’m just looking to PR (a 4:09). I don’t want to put too much pressure even though I’ve had great training. 🙂

      Thanks again.

      • Haha, 16 miles two weeks before a marathon _is_ insane, but that’s how I roll 😉 And you know me, I roll when I fall and have miraculous dismounts, lol!!

  2. Pingback: Balancing It Out | Wife Mom Runs

Leave a Reply

