Quick Fix

11:40 AM: 5.55-Mile Run (Avg. Pace 8:13/8:00 min/mi)- COMPLETED

Q: What’s a quick fix to a lazy morning?

A: A run.

I forgot my Spiebelt at home so I had to hold my phone on my run. Do I usually run with my phone? YES! I run with my RoadID, Garmin & iPhone at all times. I never used to run with my phone until 2010, when I got pregnant. Then after that, I just carried it all the time. Except when I’m racing. Then I don’t carry it with me. I figured, why not use the Nike App while simultaneously using my Garmin?

Nike App v. Garmin Forerunner

Nike App v. Garmin Forerunner

I liked the results better with the Nike App. Weird, because I have my autopause set for my Garmin, so I would think that it would have been faster with the Garmin. Eh, whatever. Close enough.

It felt good, though, I’m getting a little discouraged with Celeste’s plan for our 1/2 on January 27th. She thinks we can pull a 1:45. Here’s her race strategy:

NYC Half Marathon Strategy

Miles 1-5: @8:15 min/mi
Miles 6-10: @8:00 min/mi
5k: @7:45 min/mi

Now, it’s two loops in hilly Central Park. While I think that Celeste is a stronger runner in speed, I don’t know if it’s just too ambitious for me. What do you think?

What are your running essentials?

By the way, Pedro had Paella for dinner… AGAIN. I’m afraid he’ll get sick of this dish soon.

Enough already.

Enough already.

I, on the other hand, wanted something simple.

Chorizo, Cheese and Crackers, please.

Chorizo, Cheese and Crackers, please.

If only he was satisfied with my dinner, I’d have less dishes to wash at the end of the night. Sigh.

7 thoughts on “Quick Fix

  1. haha… I would have been happy sharing mac & cheese with Avery last night but hubby wanted something else… my solution? He could make dinner then! And it was actually pretty good.

  2. I DEFINITELY think you have a 1:45 half in you. Actually, I _know_ you can go faster. You give yourself far less credit than you deserve. I used to do it too… I thought there was no way I could run a faster 5K than my 24:00 PR… Then Coach Vinny showed me the light. Boom. 21:47. After that, I vowed never to say never. I still believe I can go faster. And I will. And you will too!

Leave a Reply

