Thirty-Five

7:15 AM: Burn Intervals (46-Minutes) – COMPLETED

Happy Friday, Folks. Today is my sister’s 35th birthday.

35th Birthday

35th Birthday

I stopped by her happy hour that started at 3:40 yesterday. She had already consumed more than one drink by the time I arrived. I hung around for about an hour before scooping up Lili. I knew everybody would be leaving sooner than later. It was nice though.

Big question of the day, do you get the flu shot?

My sister is going to Atlantic City to celebrate her 35th in style. My brother and his girlfriend will be taking care of Scarlett (my niece, her daughter). They are going to stop by for breakfast and play and then we were planning on taking the kids to Chuck E Cheeses — but, with the flu going around and both kids not getting their flu shots, we’re thinking of not risking it.

Do you think it’s better to not take the kids out? Am I just being a paranoid mama?

Anyhow, I’m waiting to hear from my one group of running friends whether they want to meet for a short run tomorrow with joggers. I’m running 20-miles on Sunday so not planning on going too hard.

Happy Friday! We survived the first full of the year.

6 thoughts on “Thirty-Five

  1. We get the flu shot, and we take our babies out. I think you find the rhythm that works for your family. For us, we’re not going to let the risk of getting the flu keep us home, but if we know that someone is sick, we’re not going to let our babies be around them either. We’re just diligent washing hands, and if we get sick, well, then we fight that battle. BTW, my girls have been sick on and off for 3 weeks now. Today is the 3rd week in a row we go to the doc. Sickness has just been floating around. Oh well, consider it building your child’s immunity. πŸ™‚ What do you do?

    • Thank you for your feedback. At 4-months old, my daughter kept getting sick. We had to give her the nebulizer a few times. We try not to bring her around sick people because she gets sick way too quick. She’s now 18 months and change and still gets sick easily if she’s around someone that is sick. Bummer. Hopefully that will all change.

      Thanks for stopping by. I am definitely trying to schedule her flu shot — can you believe their phone line has been busy for half an hour? Eek. I certainly hope that doesn’t mean a lot of sick babies/kids.

  2. Happy Birthday to your sister! You all look great in the bday picture πŸ™‚
    Ok, on the flu thing – I don’t think you are being paranoid. I have had the flu for a week (seriously!!) and it really stinks. I can only imagine it’s that much worse for a child 😦 I do not blame you for being cautious. Have a good weekend!!

    • Ugh. Back to work. We decided NOT to go out and yet, the kid has a low-grade fever. Hoping that it’s just teething, but we’ll see. Hope you had a lovely weekend.

Leave a Reply

