NYC 2012: The Resolution

7:15 AM: Lean Circuit 3 (Strength 40 Minutes) – COMPLETED

11:00 AM: 5.4 Mile Tempo Run (Avg. Pace 8:27 min/mi) – COMPLETED

I had a late start this morning because this kid wouldn’t wake up. (She slept with me as she’s still a bit sick — going back to crib status tonight).

sleeping beauty

sleeping beauty

I didn’t have plans to run before work because I really was craving an outdoor run. I missed my run at lunch yesterday so my lovely husband pulled out the treadmill before I got home and after I cooked dinner, I was able to run 3-miles before I ate. Not my best, but better than no miles. Since the big boss is out until January 2nd and my boss doesn’t have much for me to do, I was able to sneak out of the office at 11 for a run. Before I left, I opened her Christmas gift and she got me a new workout top. I decided to use it on today’s run.

New workout top

New workout top

At first, I regretted not bringing pants. It was SO cold and I had at least three people give me an insane look and one person said, “YOU’RE NOT COLD?” I said, “Eh, I’ll warm up.” The look on my face was not that convincing, but after mile 1, I was happy with the shorts. I quickly regretted not wearing short sleeves and arm warmers though. I was HOT by mile 3. In any event, it was a great run for me.

When I got back to the office, I received an email from NYRR, The Resolution to NYC 2012. They are giving us three (3) options:

1. A full refund (excluding the $11 processing fee). FYI, I paid $260.
2. Guaranteed entry in either 2013, 2014 or 2015. We would still have to pay full fee for the race, but it’s a guaranteed entry.
3. Guaranteed entry for the NYC Half Marathon (limited space available).

So there you have it. You can still get a guaranteed entry if you do the 9+1 with NYRR, however, I believe that they are getting rid of the lottery option at some point. I’m thinking I might get a guaranteed entry in 2014. I’m not sure what my race schedule will look like in 2013 and I believe they are getting rid of the “lottery” sometime in the next year, which is, the way I got in to the NYC marathon. Can you believe I first signed up in 2009?

What option would you choose?

If 9+1 was easier for me, then I would totally get a full refund and then go that route, but I don’t know if that would work in my case. With child, doing 9 races in the city is just too much.

5 thoughts on “NYC 2012: The Resolution

  1. That’s really cool that your boss got you something you can actually use. My boss usually just gives me chocolate, which is nice, but not what I need 🙂

    Tough call on the NYC issue. I do think that’s cool they are refunding entries. I’ve directed races before and at that point of late cancellation, most of your entry fee money is already spent (t-shirts, awards, infrastructure, etc). I’m surprised they decided to take that loss but glad to see it was offered. Good luck with your decision!

    • Yes. I thought for sure they weren’t going to offer refunds. I think they’re hoping that most people will NOT take the refund and will take one of the years as a guaranteed entry. I thought they spent a good bulk of that money already. In my honest opinion, I felt a little bad for Mary Wittenberg. A lot of the blame was put on her when I really think it was Bloomberg to blame. That’s all I’ll say on that as I know it was such a huge controversy.

      Have you ran NYC? or is that something you’re not interested in?

      • Yeah, I was following everyone for awhile on their Facebook page, and man, I would not have wanted to be in her shoes (or anyone else’s who was involved).

        I definitely think NYC is a marathon I need to experience. I guess I’ve shied away thus far due to the high costs involved — travel, hotel, air fare, etc etc. I like to race so much and often that if I decided to do NYC, that would have to be like my only race of the year (unless I win the lottery!) 🙂

  2. Love your new shirt!!!! I just MADE a Zumba shirt for my friend for Xmass.. so excited to give to her tonight! No idea what you should do about the NYC 2012 Resolution…

Leave a Reply

