Spanish Vegetable Soup

6:30 AM: Chalene Extreme Interval Burn Circuit – COMPLETED

It’s recipe time. I feel like I’ve been cooking/baking a lot this past year. I am still looking for my own recipe though; the recipe that I cook for the whole family when I host a meal. Perhaps if we get that dream house of mine, I can host a holiday dinner with the entire family. There are 22 of us exactly, so we need the extra room to hold that many people in at once.

In any event, here’s the Spanish Vegetable Soup recipe. It’s delicious and incredibly healthy for you!

Ingredients:

4 garlic cloves
2 leeks
1 potato
2 celery
1 red pepper
1 tomoato
1/2 head of cabbage
1/2 head of cauliflower
olive oil
salt & pepper to taste
pimenton *optional
chicken boullion *optional

Le Ingredients

Directions:

1. Boil pot of water. Then put tomato in for 30-seconds so you can easily peel.

2. Wash all the veggies up. *Now, all the veggies don’t have to be diced to little pieces because they’re going to be put in the blender. In a pot, add 2 TBS of olive oil and saute two garlic cloves, leeks, tomato, red pepper and celery until nice and soft and sweet (about 10-15 minutes).

3. Add 1 cup of water. Boil for 10-minutes. Add 1/3 water and add diced potatoes and cabbage.

4. After about 10-15 minutes, add cauliflower and cabbage. Cover and let boil to done (about another 10-minutes).

EYEBALL to see if you need more water. You don’t want the water covering the veggies, but you want there to be enough water. My MIL says to keep a pot of water boiling just in case you need to add more.

5. In another pan, saute the other two garlic cloves until lightly golden. When step 4 is done, top it off with the garlic. Add a TBS of olive oil and mix.

6. BLEND half of the soup. Then put that batch in a pot and blend another batch.

Blend, Blend, Blend!

On the side, we make popcorn on the stove.

Unfortunately, because I have to continuously stir and add ingredients, I lose time with the bumblebee. She was whining and bored and screaming, “MAMA, MAMA, MAMA!!!!”

So after we ate some soup, we played and played and played until it was time to go down!

What are your favorite soups? I’m so ready for fall. I made my MIL’s lentils last night. The best thing about this particular soup recipe is that you can add ANY vegetable you have in your fridge. Next time I’m adding broccoli.

One thought on “Spanish Vegetable Soup

  1. Pingback: The Real Food Challenge: Day 4 « Run Around My Blog

Leave a comment