The Great Escape Artist

7:00 AM: Chalene Extreme Burn Circuit Phase II – COMPLETED

08.04.12: 2-Mile Run + Chalene Extreme Burn Circuit III – COMPLETED

08.05.12: 10-Mile Run – COMPLETED

How do the weekends go by so fast?!? Overall it was a great, low-key, weekend. I did do a lot of cooking and laundry. Unfortunately, it was too hot to take the baby out and P also had to go to his brother’s to let the dogs out. They’re still in Hawaii (well, actually they return today). Yesterday I was feeling a bit under the weather. Well, first, the lack of sleep. Lili had a rough night and kept us up between 11-2 in the morning. I was supposed to run with the girls but Courtney had a cold so we canceled the run. I had to wait for Lili to take her nap at 10:30 to go for a run and what an awful run it was for me. I had to stop at least 3x to throw up. The combination of the heat and feeling dehydrated did not work well for me. When I was done, Lili was up. I made lunch, fed the baby, ate and then showered. I felt achy and almost like a fever was about to come on. I drank a lot of water. My stomach was all sorts of messed up. I could hardly eat a thing. I wanted a glass of wine, but stopped myself thinking that it would only make me feel worse. I wanted some cookies, but Pedro told me that I’d be paying for it. He’s probably right, but I was HUNGRY.

It didn’t hit me till this morning that my girlfriend’s husband had a stomach virus and was sick all weekend. He has been vomiting all weekend. I’m wondering if I caught something from him. My stomach is still off this morning, but it’s definitely a huge improvement from yesterday. Of course the turkey panini was probably not a wise choice. I should have gotten a soup or something.

Anyhow, Lili has become quite the expert in trying to escape her playpen. The evidence is right here.

After a few hours of playing with her, I begged her to take a nap so that I could rest also. We took nearly a 2-hour nap. When we woke up, P had to leave to take care of the dogs. I decided to try a new recipe from Pinterest.

Baked Apricot Chicken *I cut the recipe in half.

Ingredients/Directions
4-6 chicken thighs (I used skinless. The recipe says skinless).
1/2 cup of French Onion Dip
1/2 cup of Onion Soup Mix
1/2 cup of Apricot Preserves

Preheat oven to 350. Mix French Onion dip, onion soup mix and apricot preserves in a bowl. Then pour over the chicken. Bake uncovered for 50-60 minutes.

I ate it with a side of quinoa and brown rice. It was delicious, though I am sure I would have appreciated it more if my stomach wasn’t all types of messed up.

Lili & mommy watching the Olympics while waiting for dinner.

Have you been watching the Olympics? I did catch most of the Women’s Marathon yesterday morning and tennis. Then I watched the Bolt win and Richards-Ross. I watched women’s gymnastics and a lot of the swimming. So many great events this weekend. What are your favorite events?

7 thoughts on “The Great Escape Artist

  1. I’m sorry you ended up not feeling well–could have been a virus or just being tired, hot, dehydrated, or all of the above. I hope you get to feeling better soon! Your apricot chicken sounds so good and so easy! My favorite kind of recipe! Thanks for posting it. I am going to get the ingredients and try it. 🙂

    Lili is too funny escaping from her playpen. Cayden climbs on everything so we don’t even try to keep him penned it. LOL The only place with a gate is the kitchen because I want the pups to have a place to be where he isn’t harassing them constantly. They love him but they need their space too. Thankfully, Cayden hasn’t managed to climb that gate (it is wooden with slats and no footholds) and we don’t have anything over there that he can use to climb.

    We have been watching the Olympics like crazy! I also saw part of the women’s marathon yesterday morning. We have watched gymnastics, swimming, diving, equestrian (Cayden loves the horses), rifle, track and field, boxing, water polo, volleyball, soccer….yes, Olympics overload indeed. haha.

    XOXO and kisses to Lili!

    • We are definitely going to take down the pen soon and just block off the kitchen and dining room, on the hallway. I think that would work best. Oh, see, we should have purchased the gate that you have. Lili loves putting her monkey toes in those footholds.

      There are just so many events to watch — I think P watched some basketball last night. I don’t even know who won, but I am guessing that USA did?!?

      Yes, that is a good and easy recipe. BTW, do you like chick peas? I have a good recipe for some chick pea soup.

      Lots of hugs to Cayden.

  2. Lili!!! Oh dear…. escape artist for sure! Such a clever little kiddo! What to do when they can climb out of play pens? We’re thinking of making a ‘jail’ like Lili’s but we don’t know where… we have limited space. But is it worth making when Avery will try to get out…which I can now see is very possible!

    • I’m not sure what happens next when our babies climb out of play pens. They don’t make the gates with barbed wires — ONLY KIDDING. Next thing you know, I’m getting arrested for child abuse. I told my MIL that I asked her to cook me some eggs and she said, “No wonder she’s climbing out… That is child abuse!” HAHAHAHA

      • HAHA! Well I suggest an inflatable pool. Ours is prefect for indoor play too. I’m seriously considering moving the dining room table to the corner and putting the pool in the middle of the room. it’s safe and Avery can’t get out of it (yet) Maybe you can get Lili one with taller sides? Haha.

Leave a Reply

