And When I’m on Time…

07.25.12 7:00 PM: Westfield Pizza 5k Run – COMPLETED

6:00 AM: Chalene Extreme Burn Phase I + Ab Burner – COMPLETED

Race Report: Okay, so this time, I was on time. Phew. I did ask my sister to pick up my bib just in case. I only had 15-minutes to spare. The weather was nice and there were supposed to be a total of 2600 but when I saw the results, there were 2359 runners. Definitely less than last Thursday’s 5k . There were a ton of runners but not as many as last week. Still, a pretty big race for a 5k.

Part of the Gang

Sistahs

I started closer to the front with my sister. I told her I was looking for anything under 25:00 minutes. She was less positive as she ran a 5k two weeks ago and came in at about 27. So her goal was around that time. I believe her personal best though is in the 25:30 area. Anyhow, it was 6:55 PM when event staff was on their microphone. They were pretty much telling us to get onto the road already. There was no “Star Spangled Banner” and no type of warning. The gun just goes off at 7:00 PM. I was kind of taken by surprise.

Anyhow, we’re off and yes, the first thing I see is a hill. OH, these hills. They just love to be in the opening act. I thought I went out too hard at first, as I was feeling it so quickly, but I just kept on moving along. I passed mile 1 at 7:36 and was doing some math in my head. I was also slower than I was at the first 5k, BUT I also had Courtney coaching me through that first mile and a half. I noticed after mile 1 that my Garmin didn’t go off, and there it was… I never STARTED the damn thing. So I started it at wherever I was and just kept on going.

I got to mile 2 at about 15:45 and again, did the math. Okay, well, if I could even just keep an 8:00 min/mi I should be good to come in at around under 25 minutes. For some reason, I just kept thinking that I was running slower than last Thursday. I then looked at my watch and saw that it was 7:22 PM and I was almost done so for sure I thought I could do this and then I see the finish line. I am seriously trying to kick it and I see the time is at 24:50. I crossed the finish at 25:57. My official chip time was 24:51. A 10-second PR, but I am, nonetheless, happy. It’s what I wanted; a sub 25:00 min.

Stats: I finished 513 out of 2359. I was 112 out of 1186 women and 10/142 in my age group.

Compared to last week’s race, last Thursday I was 548 out of 2779 and 72/1757 women. I’m not sure about my age group because they didn’t categorize it. I’m guessing it was because they didn’t give awards for finishers except overall TOP champions.

Pedro did get good video footage of me crossing the finish line. I couldn’t find him at the end though. I’ll have to set up my youtube so I could post it on here.

Me and the Munchkin Post-Race

We didn’t end up staying for pizza. Lili was way tired and so was I. It was already 8. OH, and did I mention I run into my ex-boyfriend’s family post-race. It’s been years since I saw them, but it’s also the ex-boyfriend I dated for 8-years. It was nice seeing them. I’ll save that story of another day.

When we got home, it was all business. Baby had a bath, I had a shower, I laid with her till she slept, ate dinner after 9:15, and then hung out with P until I was falling asleep. Lili woke up at around 10:30 and I just brought her to bed with me. We woke up at 5:30 AM. I got my workout in, fed her breakfast, prepared dinner (peeled potatoes and the meatloaf is ready to go), changed Lili, showered and then brought her to my parents. All in all, a good morning.

What do I need to do tonight? Come on people…. You know what I have to do… LAUNDRY. Should be loads of fun, pshhhhhh…

I may be meeting some of the girls that ran last night at some bar to celebrate. Do you participate in Thirsty Thursday? I once did, came home at 2AM puking, came to work puking, got sent home and puked till 3PM. And no, I wasn’t 21 or 22. I was the lovely age of 28.


Do you celebrate when you PR for any race distance?

5 thoughts on “And When I’m on Time…

  1. Hey there! I’m so happy your race went well and you got your sub 25 time! Awesome job, especially with those stupid hills. The pic of you and Lili is so adorable! You look FANTASTIC and FIT and Lili is, as always, simply adorable. πŸ™‚

    I’m happy your evening and night went well and that Lili let you work out this morning. I hope your day is going quickly…mine is not. Sigh. I just want to go pick up Cayden and GO HOME! LOL

    I don’t ever go out to drink because I don’t drink. LOL Never have, never will but I hope you have a wonderful time if you do meet up with them tonight. Just don’t come home puking, go to work puking, etc. Not fun at all. Haha.

    I’m impressed you got dinner prepped this morning–we are having breakfast for dinner since we have music class tonight and will get home late. πŸ™‚

    XOXO and kisses to Lili!

    • I love, love, love BRINNER!!! I don’t have it often, but it’s so easy. In fact, I just stopped at the Christmas Tree Shop this past weekend and bought a really cute mason jar. I’m going to make homemade pancake mix so that I can make just what I need. :o) I have a really good homemade recipe that has the pancakes coming out fluffy. YUM YUM! :o) I also love omelettes for dinner. Their so delicious. OH, you need to try making a cup of white rice and eating it with your omelette. You’ll love it. You are part Asian. HAHAHA

      Thanks for your support. I was so happy that I got right under my last time. Everytime I start off, I can hear this voice in my head saying, “UGH. Why do you do this??? Oh, because you love running… but racing?? So much pressure. It’s only 3 miles. It’s only 3 miles!” Gahhhh. Thank goodness I had friends to run the marathon with… that would have been awful.

  2. I would be happy to eat breakfast for every meal. πŸ™‚ I make my own pancake and waffle mix too and it is so good! I really need to mix up a big batch so it is ready to go when I want it rather than making it each time. Great idea!

    I will make some rice to go with my eggs! I love white rice and eggs but never thought to put them together for us so I will try it…and I’m pretty sure I really am part Asian. LOL

    I can imagine how much pressure there is when racing. I don’t race enough for it to matter but when you keep thinking you want to get under your last time or you have a specific goal, you know you will be disappointed if you don’t and that just stresses you out. I’m so glad you don’t have to run your long races alone…I don’t know how people do that!

    Do you have any other races before your NYC Marathon? I know that isn’t until November so I am sure you will end up running a few more.

    Have a great rest of the day! I just called to check on Cayden and he had been asleep for 2 hours. That tells you he was tired from not sleeping last night. Silly boy.

    Kisses to Lili!

  3. Congrats on your race time! And no Thirsty Thursday for me. I’m not a big drinker. I do enjoy a nice glass of wine when my mom comes to visit though.

    You STILL have that laundry to do? Oh dear girl… I don’t envy you! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

