Spring or Summer

5-Mile Run – PENDING

Is it just me or does it feel like it went from winter straight to summer? Don’t get me wrong, I love this weather, but does this mean it’s going to be an unbearable summer? If it is, I might have to rethink the whole NYC Marathon training. I am such a wimp when it comes to training in the humidity. Not just that, but I’ll be doing those long training runs by my lonesome self.

Last night we celebrated my little brother’s 23rd birthday. I can’t believe he’s not a baby anymore. He’s graduated from Rutgers University with a degree in Business/Finance and is currently studying for his CPA. Since his girlfriend has class this evening, we decided to celebrate a day early with the family. It just worked out better for everyone’s schedule.

The immediate family.

Big girl eating at the Big Table.

Mi Familia

Dinner was not particularly what I had in mind. I tried something new, which I normally don’t do, but it was okay since I wasn’t crazy hungry. I had a huge grilled steak salad for lunch. So for dinner, I decided to try their Thai Chicken Salad.

Thai Chicken Salad

I gave it a C-. While the presentation was amazing, the taste was not the greatest. It was too spicy for me, and that was after asking the waiter if it were spicy. His answer, “OH, no, not at all.” The correct answer is always, “Well, everyone definition of spicy is different”. If he had said that to me, then I probably would have gone with another dish. Live and learn.

Unfortunately, I hardly ate dinner at all. Between feeding Lili, holding her, and taking bites here and there, I left with a full plate of Salad and an empty stomach. But like I said, I was already full from my lunch earlier that day. My family is not big on ordering desserts, so when I got home, I ate my own desserts.

I'll take one... or 6.

It’s a beautiful FRIDAY and I’m looking forward to the weekend. My mom’s neighbor got chosen to have their basement remodeled on HGTV so they’re filming today and they invited my family over. I told them to dress Lili in black since the camera adds 10 lbs. Lili got a kick out of it. I hope she gets on TV. I’ll let you know when it airs.

Other plans this weekend? Working on my tax appeal, LAUNDRY, 16-mile run, FAMILY TIME, need to get new tires, ORGANIZE, go through closet so I can send Allie’s clothes out, etc. I’m also feeling a bit pinspired, so I’m sure I’ll be baking/cooking up something.

What are your plans this weekend? I’m not kidding when I tell you I have a lot of laundry. It looks like it’ll be raining all weekend. Boo stinkin’ hoo. I guess we can’t always have gorgeous spring/summer days.

8 thoughts on “Spring or Summer

  1. Oh my gosh birthday cake oreos???? Well now I have to add shopping to my weekend to do list which is overflowing which is overflowing with laundry as well!

    • Looks like we’ll have similar weekends. Oreos and laundry. Let me warn you now; they’re very addicting (not laundry. I hate laundry). Thanks for stopping in! ;o)

  2. Sorry dinner wasn’t very good last night. I ate it when that happens. 😦 It did look really pretty, though!

    Justin loves oreos…in fact, I don’t buy them because he can eat them all. I like them ok but I can resist them. I haven’t seen the birthday cake ones here yet.

    It is hot here too–sunny and in the 70s and 80s. Gorgeous weather but like you, I am scared it means another horribly hot summer. I mean, we hit 111 last year. It was INSANE! I HATE weather that hot and it was MISERABLE. I so hope we don’t have that again. I would not be training for anything in the heat of the summer. I just can’t take the heat so I hope you won’t be dealing with that while training for the marathon.

    Good luck with all of that laundry. It is just never, ever, ever ends. I just folded a load this morning, in fact. Ha!

    Enjoy your weekend, happy 23rd b-day to your brother, and kisses to Lili!!!

    • Allie – If I recall last year when it was crazy hot, wasn’t your A/C not working or everyone’s power? I can’t remember exactly, but yes, I remember there was an issue. I really hope it’s not going to be a terrible summer, but that’s what everyone is predicting. Then again, they said we’d have a bad winter and that didn’t happen. Weather is funny that way.

      I didn’t know that Oreos were Justin’s favorite. I think my favorite cookie are the Fudge Striped cookies. LOVE them. They just came out with a chocolate fudge striped cookie. Pedro taste tested them and said we could work them in the rotation. HAHAAH.

      Hope you have a wonderful weekend! We’ll be having rain (probably your leftover rain from earlier this week!). Kisses to Cayden.

  3. I have a date with laundry this weekend too! Isn’t it crazy how quickly it piles up with a little one!? I swear we have 30+ bibs and that’s the first thing we run out of when we realize it’s time to do laundry. 🙂

    • If you read a lot of posts, I talk a great deal about how much I hate doing laundry. It’s the chore I hate most. My girlfriend doesn’t understand why when it’s the easiest thing in the world. Put a load in the wash; then dryer. And you’re done. If my W/D were on the same floor (and not in the basement – 25 flights down), I probably wouldn’t mind doing it at all. But yeah, there have been numerous times that I’ve left the wash in the washer for days and uh, needless to say, I’d have to dry them and rewash because it would smell like mildew — ew.

      • 25 flights?! At least its a good workout? Haha. That would definitely be my least favorite chore too if that was the case. Good luck with that this weekend. I’ll be thinking about you!

  4. Yes, it was the day it hit 111 that our power went out ALL DAY. It was a Sunday so it was horrible trying to get someone out to fix it. It was INSANE! I sincerely hope that does NOT happen again!!!

Leave a Reply

