All things Irish

7:00 AM: Upper & Lower Body Weights – COMPLETED

I’m happy to say that my legs feel great. I guess my body is just getting used to the miles. I haven’t done 20 since 2010?!? Who knows. But it was before I got pregnant and right before I was supposed to run Chicago but I was very, very early in my pregnancy.

Nonetheless, we’re done with another week.

Week #9 VT Marathon Training

Monday: The Barr Method + Tracey Anderson
Tuesday: 5-Mile Run
Wednesday: Weights
Thursday: 3-Miles + Tracey Anderson
Friday: 4-Miles
Saturday: Tracey Anderson
Sunday: 20-Mile Run

I was supposed to run 7-miles on Thursday, but didn’t have the time, so I had to split it up. Oh well.

Courtney and I discussed a very important topic on marathons and being a new mom. I’ll have to post that separately.

Anyhow, I was surprised by the energy I had post long run. I was able to finish up some laundry and cook. Pedro had been requesting a Shepard’s Pie since last week, so I made sure to get the ingredients. I’m not sure if this is typically an Irish dish, but I figured, since St. Paddy’s is coming up and NO, I’m nowhere near being Irish, but it’s always fun to go with a theme.

Ingredients:

8-medium potatoes
1 TBP of baking powder
1 egg
1/2 TBP butter
8 oz Shredded Cheese (whatever flavor you want)
1 lb. ground beef (you can mix with turkey ground beef or pork)
1 cup of green peas
1/2 an onion diced
1/2 red pepper diced
1 garlic clove diced
1 TBSP of olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350.

1. Peel potatoes. In a pot, boil potatoes with one garlic clove.(45-minutes).
2. In a pan, heat olive oil. Saute onions and garlic till lightly brown and sweet. Add red peppers. Add groundbeef and brown up. Season with some salt and pepper. Then add in green peas. Put on low heat.
3. When potatoes are ready, drain, throw out the garlic clove and then put back into pot. Mash it up and add the egg, butter and distribute half the mashed potatoes onto a pie dish. I usually grease the bottom with some butter.
4. Next, place the meats and veggies in the dish.
5. Distribute half the cheese on top. Then spread the remaining mashed potatoes on top. Then top with remaining cheese.
6. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until top is lightly brown.

Pedro prefers Mozzerella Cheese.

There's a trick in spreading out the mashed on top. Use a spatula. Otherwise, the meat and cheese will be all over the place.

Drizzle the remaining cheese on top.

There you have it.

And that’s pretty much it in an nutshell. Pedro puts ketchup on it. I know, that might be gross to some people, but he actually puts ketchup on everything.

Do you like Shepard’s Pie? Unfortunately, I’m not a fan. So I put a pizza in the oven.

I am lame.

Pizza was eh… What do you expect with frozen ‘Za? I could have whipped something else up for myself, but that would mean extra pots and pans to wash. No thanks!!!!

One thought on “All things Irish

  1. Pingback: 3.14 = Pi Day « Run Around My Blog

Leave a Reply

