Sweet As Pie

5:15 AM: Bob Harper’s Pure Cardio – COMPLETED

It’s been a busy week on the work front. I’m working for two attorneys and by the end of the day, I am tired. Not to mention, the cold, frigid weather we’re having and our house that feels like an ice-box. I know, I know. It’s January. Of course the weather will be cold. I don’t expect anything less. I am looking forward to this weekend when the temps will be back in the 50s. (Yes, this is how we all get sick. Single digits back to mid-50s). I’m meeting up with the running group for, what I think will be 10-12 miles.

Yesterday, Lili had her 6-month doctor’s visit. Well, it’s really her 6-month, 2-week visit. We had it scheduled for last week, but I didn’t think it was fair for her to get shots before the holiday. However, had I known that our baby was going to be so brave and not even CRY when she got not 1, but 2 shots, I would have kept that appointment last week. I couldn’t believe it. Her lower lip did a slight quiver, but after that, shew as FINE!

All bundled up in frigid temps.

According to BabyCenter: (6-months; 2weeks)

Your baby’s growing tower of babble indicates movement toward talking, although the ability to form words and sentences is still many months away. You may hear the same syllable repeated over and over with variations in pitch and tone. Or she may make more complicated sounds, such as two or even three different syllables strung together. Your baby is experimenting with them like a musician testing out a new instrument.

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby may favor one hand for a while and then switch to the other. But you can’t really tell whether she’s a lefty or a righty until she’s about 2 or 3 years old.

Don’t try to influence your baby’s hand preference (it’s determined before birth). Forcing a child to use one hand when she’s inclined to use the other may confuse her and lead to problems with hand-eye coordination, dexterity, and handwriting down the road.

She really is sweet as pie. Speaking of pie, I made my homemade Apple Pie the other night. Please don’t laugh at my lattice skills. I know, it’s not good.

I got this recipe from The Food Network back in 2009 and was in the baking mood. I would bake more often if I had the time, but with a baby, it’s definitely HARDER to find the time. Every day I say to myself, “Okay, I want to cook this, or that!!!” And then, I get home and all I want to do is play with the baby. I’m still trying to find my balance.

How many times a week do you (or your spouse/significant other) cook? I really need to get back to my cooking schedule. I used to cook 4-5x a week. Pedro sometimes doesn’t want to eat leftovers, but he’s getting better at it.

3 thoughts on “Sweet As Pie

  1. I know you have been really busy at work and it is so hard to do everything at home when you are so tired. I hope next week is better! We are almost to the weekend so maybe you will have time to recharge. I too just want to play with Cayden when I get home. I still cook pretty much every night, though. I just don’t always want to and I always have Cayden in the kitchen with me while I do so I guess I am still spending time with him. LOL Plus, Cayden likes to help me clean the kitchen so I guess that’s good. 🙂

    Lili is such a cutie! Sorry it has been cold there. We are going to be 68 degrees today and then in the 30’s over the weekend. I just want to take Cayden to the park today instead of work! 😦

    I bet your apple pie is delicious! Your lattice work is better than mine…I’ve never mastered that. I figure who cares when it tastes awesome, right? I haven’t had time to bake anything…I wanted to bake for the holidays but that didn’t happen. I’m lucky to get the regular cooking done. Ha!

    Take care! XOXO Kisses to Lili!

    • Question: when Cayden was Lili’s age, where would you put him in the kitchen? In the bouncer? She’s finally able to touch the ground with her bouncer. Before she was on her tippy-toes and we didn’t want her in it.

Leave a Reply

