Two for Tuesday

5:45 AM: 3-Mile Run – COMPLETED

1. I’ve put my name in the lottery for the NYC Half Marathon on March 18, 2012 (this is not to be confused with the Manhattan Half Marathon scheduled on January 22, 2012. The Manhattan Half Marathon has already reached its capacity, so registration is now closed, just in case anyone was looking to run that race. I’m not crazy about the course for the Manhattan Marathon. It’s two loops in Central Park, which I’ve ran twice for the Women’s More Half Marathon – this past April I was 28-weeks pregnant). The NYC Half Marathon never used to be a “lottery” race up until the last two years (I think). I’m not quite sure if it was the popularity of the race that made it into a “lottery” race. It would be great to get a spot in this since I’m running the Keybank Vermont Marathon in May. I definitely need a good half marathon race in my schedule.

The reason I want to run this race at least once is because I’ve heard amazing reviews from friends that have run this race. You run through the heart of the city, including Times Square.

Again, it’s just a “lottery” race, so I’m not in, just yet. I should probably add, I am never lucky with lotteries. I’ve applied THREE times into the NYC Marathon and have been denied THREE times. I’m guaranteed this year (after 3 consecutive tries, you are guaranteed the fourth year), but I’ve mentioned that if I’m pregnant, I may have to defer to 2013.

2. The NBA is coming back. I know it’s been over a week now since the decision was made, but if you know Pedro, he’s a H-U-G-E NBA kind-of-guy. If it’s not football (by the way, he’s going to the Giants v. Jets game on Christmas Eve), it’s basketball. I purchased two tickets to the Heat v. Nets game on January 7th as a Christmas gift to Pedro.

Are there any races you are dying to run? There are some other future races I’d love to run one day, including, Eugene & Portland, OR (I have a girlfriend that runs both those marathons and does amazing), Chicago, San Diego. Those are just a few on the list.

I might even throw in the Empire State Building Run Up and Philadelphia Climb the Tower.

2 thoughts on “Two for Tuesday

  1. You have so many fun races out there. We don’t have as many and the scenery definitely isn’t as entertaining. 🙂 I hope you get into this one, though! I am sure it is hard when you have to do it through a lottery. Good luck!

    Pedro will really enjoy his Christmas NBA tickets. What an awesome wife you are! And, I’m sure he will have fun at the game on Christmas Eve. 🙂

    Have a wonderful day! XOXO

Leave a Reply

