Home Gym Edition

7:00 AM: Bob Harper’s Ultimate Cardio Body – COMPLETED

I used to be a member of a gym. In fact, the gym I used to be a member of was one of the hottest gyms around, Lifetime Fitness. The best part of this Fitness Center was that they were opened 24-hours a day, 7-days a week. I used to go to this gym at 4AM and I would have to ring the doorbell. It was pretty awesome.

Unfortunately, I only used the outdoor pool ONCE.

Now, the problem was, this gym was costing me $100/month. It was, however, worth it since I was going to the gym 6-7 days a week and sometimes even twice a day. Towards the end of 2009, Pedro and I discussed our finances. $100/month x 12 is $1,200. We started looking for treadmills because the truth was, I was using the treadmill A LOT. At least if we bought a treadmill of our own, then we could both benefit from a good workout (even though P hasn’t really been on it). I loved being a part of the gym community for the last 6-years straight. I’ve met a ton of women that I’m still friends with now, but it got to be too much. So we bought a treadmill for $1,000 (here’s a fun fact: Pedro was supposed to propose to me but I kept talking about wanting a treadmill, so he had to put the engagement on hold an extra two months) and so far, I saved $2,400. Problem is, where is that money? HA.

So, we bought our treadmill that does get used a lot (especially during my pregnancy in the winter), and I’ve also bought other gadgets along the way.

It was, however, annoying the first year and a half because my workout room was above our tenant’s son’s room, and so, the earliest I could run was 7AM – so not the time I’m used to running at. But before Lili was born, we moved the treadmill into the living room and now I can run however early I so desire.

I’ve also turned to workout DVDs. My Bob Harper DVDs just came in and as you can see, I did the first workout this morning. It was definitely AMAZING. I was drenched with sweat working muscles that have been neglected for too long.

I can now add it to my collection of workout DVDs.

I’m all about variety and switching workouts up. I get bored too quickly.

Being a new mom, I find workout out at home is ideal. I love working out with Lili right next to me (though if she’s sleeping, I get through a workout much faster).

Do you do workout DVDs at home? If so, is there any particular workout DVD you would recommend? Allie, I know we pretty much have the same DVDs. Thanks for recommending Bob.

Finally, Lili looking under the tree. She is the best.

Happy Monday!

2 thoughts on “Home Gym Edition

  1. i haven’t had a gym membership since i bought my TM, back in 2005. it saves a ton of money! i wish i could do DVDs at home but i’m not that motivated. if i want to strength train, i need to go outside the house. luckily my yoga studio offers classes and i don’t have to be a member to take them.

  2. You already know my workouts and that I no longer belong to a gym. I don’t miss the gym at all, though. LOL I love working out at home. Justin still has his membership which annoys me sometimes because he only goes 1-2 times a week. I would like him to go to the cheaper one near our house but so far, he refuses to change. We’ll see. I keep looking for ways to save money and that would be a big place to do it.

    Lili is so cute looking at the gifts under the tree! Adorable! Is she moving on her own at all? I know she is sitting up and rolling but is she trying to crawl already? Cayden didn’t crawl until 9 months but he was a late crawler. LOL

    We haven’t put any gifts under the tree because Cayden tears into any that he sees. LOL He just wants the paper so he can shred it and try to eat it. Also, he is fascinated by the tree and wants to pull off all the beads. It is funny but we have to keep moving him away from the beads…. 🙂

    Take care! XOXO

Leave a Reply

