Sign Me Up…

12:00 PM: 30-Minute Walk (1.7-mile) – COMPLETED (I was planning for a 45-minute walk, but Lili woke up from her nap).

It’s hard to keep track of what day it is when you’re not working. I am lost. I had to look at my calendar twice to see that today is Monday. I know Mondays aren’t the best day of the week, especially since everyone had a short week the last two weeks. Now it’s full work mode until Labor day; though I’m sure some of you have summer hours, or so I hope you have summer hours.

Anyhow, I’m still fiddling around with the Philadelphia Marathon/Half Marathon. I just checked online to see if it was full, and to my surprise, there’s still openings. The Full is $125 and the Half is $100. Eek. That’s quite a lot of money to put down. My sister is running the Marathon and they are booked to stay out there. I can always crash with them, but I’m not sure if maybe Pedro and Lili will come for the weekend. Lili will be 4-months by then and it would be nice to getaway for the weekend. However, that’s a lot of money to book a room. When I ran the Philly Half last September, our room was about $170, if I recall.

Now, training, that’s the other thing. I would probably have more time to train for the half than the fall, but $25 difference in registration, hmmm… If I do an 18-week training plan for the full marathon, I would have to start training by July 24th. It’s doable since I will get cleared to run by July 20th, but honestly, I will be starting out “slow”. I’m power walking right now to get some base training. I know it’s not running, but it’s something to get me started. Of course I’ll ask my OB if she thinks it’s safe for me to start marathon training (which I have a feeling she’ll tell me it’s okay since she told me to sign up for this half marathon in September), but will it be too much for me? I guess I can give it a try and see how the first two weeks go, and if I’m feeling strong enough, then I’ll sign up — of course if registration hasn’t closed out yet. If registration closes, then it wasn’t meant to be.

On a positive note, I feel that since I ran throughout my pregnancy (up until the day I was admitted to the hospital), I will be in good shape when I hit the pavement. Again, we’ll just have to see how I am feeling.

As I mentioned in the last few posts, Lili had some newborn pictures taken on Saturday. My girlfriend Amy, who works some gigs with Deanna (the girl who took my maternity pictures) asked me if she could take Lili’s pictures and I was excited to have her take them. Amy and I have been friends for 13+ years. We actually met through work back in ’98. Yes, I knew her when she was 23 and I was 18. I watched her marry her husband and even babysat her two kids. It’s crazy. I was the youngest one in the office, so everyone there still can’t believe that I’m a mom.

When Amy got to the house, she gave Lili a gift.

20110710-092535.jpg

20110710-092553.jpg

Thanks Amy!

Here’s a sneak peek of a picture she took. I believe it’s still unedited, but I am amazed already.

20110710-092654.jpg

20110711-011931.jpg

20110711-012025.jpg

I am in love… I can now finish her Baby Announcements.

Okay, I’ve got emails to catch up on. Yesterday was a wacky day. I was getting ready to head out to a bridal shower when Pedro woke up not feeling well at all. I couldn’t let him take care of Lili because the last thing we need is for her to not feel well. So I stayed with her throughout the day. I still have Emma’s gifts here at the house and have to make it out to see her. Also, I wanted to see Courtney, but since P was under the weather, I don’t think I should go see her either. With a newborn, that’s the last thing you need.

I feel like everyone is getting sick. Scarlett had a 101.4 fever and Pedro’s mom has bronchitis. Pedro’s still not feeling 100%… Hopefully everyone will get well soon.

6 thoughts on “Sign Me Up…

  1. I think you are on the right track–wait and see how your first few weeks of training go and then decide if you want to do the full or half. I know you can do whatever you set out to do. You are amazing!

    Lili’s pictures are beautiful! Wow! I can’t wait to see them all. She is just a beauty!

    I’m sorry Pedro, his mom, and Scarlett are sick. That is not fun at all and not what you want when babies are around! It’s good that you stayed with Lili just in case Pedro had something contagious. She was already exposed but better to have you being the primary caretaker than him since he will pass more germs if he was the only one home. Hope he is feeling better now.

    Take care and I hope Courtney and Ava are doing well!

  2. Beautiful pictures!

    Sign up! Do it, do it! I would sign up for the full, see how training goes, and then you can always drop to the half if need be.

    Think of how amazing it will be…you literally give birth in June and then run a marathon in Nov. So impressive!

  3. What amazing pics! You seem to be doing so well.

    I’d say sign up for the full *if* and only *if* you are able to drop down to the half. Marathons are tough on the body and how long do you plan on nursing? It’d be an amazing accomplishment but also remember to take care of Rachel and her body that’s going through a lot. BUT you know I’ll be cheering my heart out for you during training and racing!

    2 weeks until I sign up for a 2012 Ironman!!!

    Miss you!

    My quick update: dating life on hold, no guy around. *sigh*

    • I just saw your pictures and can I just say, you look stunning and amazing. Seriously, how gorgeous do you look in your birthday picture? And yes, I agree — taking care of the body is #1. I’m going to have to increase the calories — thanks to livestrong for helping me on that stuff. ;o) I was going to suggest maybe you signing up for the race, too? Perhaps we can share a room or something? How fun would that be?

      SO you’ve decided to definitely do the 2012 IM??? HOW FUN! NYC happens to be hosting their very first IM in 2012. Guess what? It was SOLD OUT in 11 minutes. Crazy, right?

      PS, I think the dating life on hold is a good thing. There may be plenty of fish in the sea, but there’s only one Kari. So good to take your time and do YOU!!!

      • Thanks for the compliments… I don’t feel very pretty lately, I’m getting really thin again and my head is starting to look a bit big for my shoulders. Argh.

        I”m going to try to sign up for Ironman Lake Placid NY, I’ll know on July 25th if I get in. Ironman races are filling up in record time so you have to sign up IMMEDIATELY. If I don’t get in the regular way, I might have to do the charity slot, which is extra $$ but the extra $$ is donated. We’ll see… I figure next year is the best year for me to do another one. EEK! I’m in better shape now than I was for the last one but who knows… my parents said they’d fly out to NY for the race. Want to come spectate? :)~

        I’m working on my calendar for the rest of the year. Argh, I need more travel money! I really want to find a way to come see you…

        Miss you! XOXO

      • Seriously, I loved all your pictures. You look fantastic. And, no way… your head does not look big because you’re getting thinner. You look perfect!

        When is the Lake Placid NY IM? I will definitely come out and see you if you get in. How much does it cost? I know that it’s a lot of money for an IM. Oh, and I know what you mean about it costing money if you do it through charity. I think to run the NYC Marathon through charity you have to raise a ridiculous amount, like $3,000 and that’s not including the entry fee (which is what? like $200?). I’m definitely in the NYC marathon for 2012, but, I also want to start having baby #2. I know, I know. I’m crazy, but I figured if I start trying, it’ll be June of next year. My OB actually thinks it’ll be perfect and that I shouldn’t defer NYC and just run it 4-months pregnant. LOL We’ll see. I am definitely running the VT marathon next Memorial Day. Perhaps you should consider running that one too? My girlfriend ran it and qualified for Boston with that marathon.

        Okay, miss you too!! Hopefully you can come out here soon!

Leave a Reply

