39-Weeks: Light at the End of the Tunnel

6:30 AM: 2-Mile Run – COMPLETED

7:00 AM: Weight Training (Upper Body) – COMPLETED

…or the Light at the End of the Birth Canal for Baby S. I have to say, these last 39-weeks just flew right by. I don’t have my weekly visit until tomorrow morning, so stats/updates won’t be posted. For the most part, I’ve been well. I’m a little tired by late afternoon, but other than that, I’m doing A-okay. A lot of people have been telling me to just “rest” because when baby’s born, I won’t be resting much. I know I won’t be, but I also have wonderful and amazing family that will be visiting often, so I’m not too worried about that, and on top of that, Pedro will have some time off to help me. We will be able to work as a team.

Here’s what’s going on in my 39th week of pregnancy according to Baby Center.

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby’s waiting to greet the world! He continues to build a layer of fat to help control his body temperature after birth, but it’s likely he already measures about 20 inches and weighs a bit over 7 pounds, a mini watermelon. (Boys tend to be slightly heavier than girls.) The outer layers of his skin are sloughing off as new skin forms underneath.

How your life’s changing:

At each of your now-weekly visits, your caregiver will do an abdominal exam to check your baby’s growth and position. She might also do an internal exam to see whether your cervix has started ripening: softening, effacing (thinning out), and dilating (opening). But even armed with this information, there’s still no way for your caregiver to predict exactly when your baby is coming. If you go past your due date, your caregiver will schedule you for fetal testing (usually a sonogram) after 40 weeks to ensure that it’s safe to continue the pregnancy. If you don’t go into labor on your own, most practitioners will induce labor when you’re between one and two weeks overdue — or sooner if there’s an indication that the risk of waiting is greater than the risks of delivering your baby without further delay.

While you’re waiting, it’s important to continue to pay attention to your baby’s movements and let your caregiver know right away if they seem to decrease. Your baby should remain active right up to delivery, and a noticeable slowdown in activity could be a sign of a problem. Also call if you think your water may have broken. Membranes rupture before the beginning of labor in about 8 percent of term pregnancies.

Sometimes there’s a big gush of fluid, but sometimes there’s only a small gush or a slow leak. (Don’t try to make the diagnosis yourself. Call even if you only suspect you have a leak.) If you rupture your membranes and don’t start contractions on your own, you’ll be induced.

My Pregnancy: It’s like I said before, no major problems except by late afternoon, I am ready to take a nap. Baby has been pretty active these days. After last Monday’s race, I’ve started experiencing soreness in the pelvic area, but my OB says that’s quite normal and baby’s making his/her way into the world. We know that s/he was estimated to be 6lbs., 4oz. last Tuesday and I was softening up. We’ll see how I’m progressing after tomorrow morning’s appointment.

Working out and staying active is still a part of my daily routine. At 39-weeks I am still running (or wunning/wogging, whatever you want to call it), albeit slow, I’ll take what I can. Spinning has been good and weight training has been keeping my arms toned and less calf cramps (or so I like to tell myself this).

As for the house and nesting, it’s coming along. We’ve had to move some things around and are still not quite done with the final touches, but it’s getting there. Whether it will get done before baby comes, well… we just have to wait and see. I know not everything will get done, but I’m hoping for at least the major things to get done.

Do I think I’m going to go into labor this week? Sometimes I think yes, other times I think no. Baby’s head is down; I’m waddling from the pelvic soreness, baby’s head is pushing on my bladder; it’s been hard to roll out of bed, especially late last night. I got out of bed every or every other hour. But I’m not sure if s/he’s done cooking, so we’ll just have to patient and wait and see.

Names, names, names… still trying to come up with a name. We have ideas, but nothing concrete or written in stone. It’s also definitely all new to me to be driving with a car seat in the back seat. It means it’ slowly happening…Parenthood. How exciting.

Bump Shot:

Side View:

Front View:

Anyway, I have so much to post about still; i.e. My Maternity photo shoot pics, GOTR Race Report on my birthday last Monday, GOTR end of the year party yesterday and tomorrow I’ll post updates on my 39-week visit. Tonight we’re taking the kids (Pedro’s niece and nephew) out to watch Kung Fu Panda 2. I’ve requested and aisle seat because I’m sure I’ll be getting up repeatedly to use the potty. I promise to get these out — just not sure if I’ll get them out before labor. ;o)

Happy Tuesday, Folks.

8 thoughts on “39-Weeks: Light at the End of the Tunnel

  1. 39 weeks! Wow! As you know, I am so excited for you both. I have to tell you–I was taking a shower about 10 last night and as I was getting out, I heard my phone ding to tell me I got a text message. I immediately thought of you so I jumped out to check it to see if you had gone into labor! LOL Alas, it was not you. But soon it will be! 🙂

    You are doing so amazing and you look incredible. You are still all belly–your legs and arms are still nice and lean and no fat at all! You have done a wonderful job keeping active and healthy the entire time. Your baby will so thank you for that! And you will thank yourself afterwards too when you are back to normal in no time!

    I know you will finish everything up and I look forward to your update from your doctor tomorrow! Have fun tonight watching Kung Fu Panda 2 and let me know how it is. We saw the first one and liked it. 🙂

    Happy Tuesday to you!

    • The only problem I’m having is that I’m wearing the same clothes over and over because I refuse to buy any new maternity clothes. HA. I’m actually wearing a lot of pre-pregnancy dresses. Only thing is, they ride up just a wee bit (1-2 of them I have to wear leggings w/ them). I also hope I’m not stretching them out for post-pregnancy. Whoops.

      Pedro put the hospital bag in his car — I think he’s scared I might go during work and would need to meet me at the hospital. HA. I bet every time you get a text you’ll be wondering if it’s me going into labor. HA!

      I will definitely let you know how the movie is tonight. I actually need to look up times again so we could figure out when we’ll eat dinner…

      Hope you have a wonderful day. FYI, your birthday gifts are coming in separately — It’s three things.

      • How funny! There is no point in buying more now so it makes sense to stick with what you have. Hopefully your dresses will still be ok…if they are stretchy, they should be fine. 🙂

        I’m happy P is prepared–you just never know! I told you about my friend who went to the doctor, found out she was 8 cm dilated and was sent to the hospital that second. You never can tell about those babies. LOL

        Thanks–you are so sweet! Looking forward to celebrating my birthday some more! 🙂

      • NO! You never did tell me about your friend that was 8 cm dilated. That is crazy stuff. I felt a little bit of cramps this morning, but nothing serious. It went away. Thank goodness I have an appointment tomorrow. HA. Imagine if I were that many cm. dilated and didn’t even know it? Keep your phone nearby/ I am definitely feeling a bit more uncomfortable this week… Just a week or two and then we can post pictures of the baby and not my belly. ;o)

    • Oh my goodness, tiny little you has such a big baby bump! SO EXCITING!
      I still owe you an email about my crazy love life. I did a gemini thing but everything is ok. 🙂

      Gotta run, busy at work. MISS YOU!
      XOXO

      • Oh no… I think I know what Gemini thing you did. I can’t wait to read all about it. Any big plans this Saturday for your birthday?!? It’s actually the first Saturday that I’m not working or coaching. Who knows… it might be the day I go into labor. HA!

        I’ll text you if I deliver and/or Saturday — whichever comes first. ;o)

        MISS YOU TOO.

    • I KNOW!!! I’m excited… and surprisingly not impatient just yet… Mayhaps it’s because I still have some last minute things to get done. HA!

Leave a Reply

