38-Weeks: Inside the Womb

06/06/11: 7:00 PM: GOTR 5k at 37-weeks & 6-days – DONE & DONE

6:25 AM: Stretch & Weight Training – COMPLETED

First things first, Happy Birthday to my girlfriend Allie. I hope that you have a wonderful day.

I’ll have a separate post on last night’s race shortly after my sister emails me the pictures. She ended up using her camera and I needed to carry my phone. Just a short synopsis: It went well. Sabrina did awesome! GOTR rocks and I hope that she enjoyed herself and will come back for more next season. We need more Sanchez runners in the family. Post race I felt good, but when we got to Olive Garden and I got out of the car, my entire lower body was off. I’m thinking it was more pelvic pain as the baby is preparing for childbirth, and well, I did just jog a 5k. So, sitting too long and then getting up to walk was torture and even more so when I was getting out of bed to pee in the middle of the night. But, this morning, I did some wonderful stretches that helped alleviate the soreness, followed by some weight training. I still waddle a bit initially when I get up from a seated position, but then that slowly goes away. I have some more information on the pelvic pain when I post the race recap from last night.

We had a post birthday celebration at Olive Garden, but it was just my sister and I, and Pedro met us there. He never made it out to the race because a delivery came close to 6pm and it would have been impossible for him to get to us by 7. Streets were closed off and the race started at 7. So, he met us at Olive Garden. My birthday came and went, just like that, but I had some already amazing gifts (which will be shared also in another post) and of course, I get to to open the best gift in just a few weeks.

Now, onto the 38-week post. Yes, I’m 38-weeks pregnant today. Crazy how time just flies. According to Baby Center, this is what’s in store for this week.

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby has really plumped up. She weighs about 6.8 pounds and she’s over 19 1/2 inches long (like a leek). She has a firm grasp, which you’ll soon be able to test when you hold her hand for the first time! Her organs have matured and are ready for life outside the womb.

Wondering what color your baby’s eyes will be? You may not be able to tell right away. If she’s born with brown eyes, they’ll likely stay brown. If she’s born with steel gray or dark blue eyes, they may stay gray or blue or turn green, hazel, or brown by the time she’s 9 months old. That’s because a child’s irises (the colored part of the eye) may gain more pigment in the months after she’s born, but they usually won’t get “lighter” or more blue. (Green, hazel, and brown eyes have more pigment than gray or blue eyes.)

How your life’s changing:

For many women, the next couple of weeks are a waiting game. Use this time to prepare your baby’s nursery or to take care of necessary tasks you may not get around to for a while after your baby’s born. Take naps, catch up on your reading, and spend uninterrupted time with your partner while you can.

Some swelling in your feet and ankles is normal during these last weeks, but call your practitioner without delay if you notice excessive or sudden swelling of your feet or ankles, more than slight swelling of your hands, any swelling in your face or puffiness around your eyes, or have a sudden weight gain. Also let her know immediately if have severe or persistent headaches; visual changes (such as double or blurred vision, seeing spots or flashing lights, light sensitivity, or a temporary loss of vision), intense upper abdominal pain or tenderness, or nausea and vomiting. These are symptoms of a serious condition called preeclampsia.

My Pregnancy:

I’m still feeling pretty good, minus the pelvic pain from last night. I do feel like this baby is going to be coming sooner than later though, but that’s not up to me. We’re slowly, but surely getting final things done in the house. Just a few more things that need to be moved, but other than that, it’s really winding down. Some good news, when Pedro and I got home from a very late dinner, I took out all the new things I bought at Target yesterday and he said, “Okay, can we please pack your hospital bag?” I took out Allie’s list, and Pedro helped me through it. We even packed him a book and some cash just in case. It’s siting nice and tight by the front door.

I have to tell you, we both feel relieved that at least that’s out of the way. The only thing missing really are our chargers (iTouch, iPad and phones).

38-Week Bump Shot: (Please don’t mind my pajama pants.)

And I took a frontal picture also.

On a final note, I have an ultrasound scheduled at 12:30 today. I’m a little nervous and excited. I just want to be sure that my bundle of joy is growing and on schedule. I mean, I can tell s/he’s growing because the elbows and knees are definitely much stronger. Tomorrow morning, I have my 38-week visit with my OB/GYN, so I need to make a list of questions to ask her — and more medical questions than running questions. The other night while on the couch with Pedro, I said to him, “So, if my water breaks, should we just go the hospital right away or call my doctor?” He looked at me and said, “Are you kidding me? What do you and your doctor talk about when you go for your visits?” Oops… I got caught. We talk about racing and running and, ‘OH yeah, can I run this race next week even if I’m full term?” HA.

Alright, time to get to work before I head out to my appointment.

Happy Tuesday.

7 thoughts on “38-Weeks: Inside the Womb

  1. Wow! 38 weeks! You look fantastic and I’m so glad to see a frontal pic of your belly too! I can tell your baby has grown just from the pictures so I am sure you will get a good report today. Looking forward to hearing about it! 🙂

    Oh, just so you know, what we did when my water broke was call the hospital as we were on our way and tell them and they called my doctor for me. Too funny that you guys talk about races and running and not much about pregnancy and birth. LOL

    I’m happy you got your bag packed and I hope you feel a little less overwhelmed now. You may have the baby earlier rather than later. You can truly go into labor at any point now. Isn’t that exciting! What’s funny is you will start to analyze every feeling and think ok, is this the start of labor? Luckily, my water broke so it was pretty obvious but that doesn’t happen for all women. A lot of women just start having more and more contractions and they aren’t sure when “real” labor starts! LOL

    Ok, have a wonderful day and I’ll look for your posts later on. I will post to my blog at some point too. Today has been a bit busy but it should slow down later on.

    • Did you have a birth plan? I meant to ask you. LOL If you read today’s post you’ll see that I did ask her all the questions that I needed to know. Phew. She told me to call her first before going to the hospital. Good thing I asked, right? I’m sure Pedro would have been mad if I didn’t know what to do. I should probably write this down in that notebook you told me to pack in the bag. Did you keep your bag in the car? Secondly, will I know what contractions feel like? I asked her if I would know about water breaking and she said yes… I shouldn’t have read a bunch of crap online. LOL You know how those forums go.

      I hope you had a wonderful birthday yesterday!!! ;o) I wanted to text you last night, but I’ll update that on LS.

  2. Thanks again for the birthday wish! I am having a perfect day so far! It will get even better in a few minutes because I get to go see Cayden for lunch!!

  3. Amazing (do I say that enough when you post bump shots??)!! I can’t wait to hear about the 5K. Again (amazing) that you can jog a 5K in the heat at the very end of your pregnancy.

    • You are too kind. I am sure that when you are pregnant, you’ll be running races left and right. Oh, and your bumps will also look amazing. Let’s see how I do post-pregnancy bump shots. LOL

    • Oh, and I hope to post 5k race report as soon as I get the pictures!!!! I haven’t even seen one and I was supposed to get them emailed to me yesterday, but I think my sister was busy. She’ll get around to it.

  4. It will be fun to see post-pregnancy bump shots since we got to see your belly grow and now we will watch it shrink!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

