35-Weeks In

7:15 AM: 3-Mile Run – COMPLETED

FIVE WEEKS TO GO…. AHHHHHHH! Okay, it might be more than 5-weeks or less… only baby knows when s/he wants to make this special appearance, right? In any event, the time is coming when we will be parents; mama and papa. How exciting? I’m not at all nervous about being a mother. I mean, I know hormones may not help, but for the most part, I feel confident. I’m more stressed about not having things ready before the baby comes (nursery, house being straightened, landscaping, etc.). I know, not everything will be accomplished, but I’d like the house at least to be done. Mainly because I know that we’ll have so much family over the first few weeks, coming in/out of the house… So, yeah, I’d like the house presentable.

Also, I had an episode this past Saturday. I ened up vomiting on Saturday after my goddaughter’s birthday party. I was feeling a little woozie and the baby’s kicking wasn’t helping, so I yacked. I’m not sure if it was a combination of foods I ate or what. Other than that, I’ve been feeling great. I’m 35-weeks (at times, my bump looks bigger than other days. This morning, it didnt look as big). Let’s see what’s happening according to Baby Center.

How your baby’s growing:

Your baby doesn’t have much room to maneuver now that he’s over 18 inches long and tips the scales at 5 1/4 pounds (pick up a honeydew melon). Because it’s so snug in your womb, he isn’t likely to be doing somersaults anymore, but the number of times he kicks should remain about the same. His kidneys are fully developed now, and his liver can process some waste products. Most of his basic physical development is now complete — he’ll spend the next few weeks putting on weight.

How your life’s changing:

Your uterus — which was entirely tucked away inside your pelvis when you conceived — now reaches up under your rib cage. If you could peek inside your womb, you’d see that there’s more baby than amniotic fluid in there now. Your ballooning uterus is crowding your other internal organs, too, which is why you probably have to urinate more often and may be dealing with heartburn and other gastrointestinal distress. If you’re not grappling with these annoyances, you’re one of the lucky few.

From here on out, you’ll start seeing your practitioner every week. Sometime between now and 37 weeks, she’ll do a vaginal and rectal culture to check for bacteria called Group B streptococci (GBS). (Don’t worry — the swab is the size of a regular cotton swab, and it won’t hurt at all.) GBS is usually harmless in adults, but if you have it and pass it on to your baby during birth, it can cause serious complications, such as pneumonia, meningitis, or a blood infection. Because 10 to 30 percent of pregnant women have the bacteria and don’t know it, it’s vital to be screened. (The bacteria come and go on their own — that’s why you weren’t screened earlier in pregnancy.) If you’re a GBS carrier, you’ll get IV antibiotics during labor, which will greatly reduce your baby’s risk of infection.

This is also a good time to create a birth plan. Using our form will help you focus on specifics — like who’ll be present, what pain management techniques you want to try, and where you want your baby to stay after you deliver. It will give you a starting point to discuss your preferences with your medical team. Childbirth is unpredictable, and chances are you won’t follow your plan to the letter, but thinking about your choices ahead of time — and sharing your preferences with your caregiver — should take some of the anxiety out of the process.

The Bump:

20110516-095241.jpg

I know it doesn’t look as different as last week’s, but I think when I take bump pictures in the morning, they come out way smaller than in the evening. I assure you that baby is MOVING like crazy and is super active. I know this bump is doing you no justice. I looked at it and it doesn’t look that big, but it does look big in person. I promise.

At 34-weeks, I took a breastfeeding class, which was extremely informative. I also had my second labor dream. The first one I had was back in the first trimester. I was freaked out — this time, I wasn’t so apprehensive. All I remember is my OB (which wasn’t my real OB in the dream) was giving me an exam and an epidural and telling me he’d be back later on. Some other things that happened in week 34, my belly got molested on more than one occasion. I didn’t mind at all as none of them were strangers.

On an unrelated pregnancy note, yesterday, I had to leave work early to babysit my oh-so-cute goddaughter. When I got to the house, everyone was asleep, so I took a quick nap. When I woke up, my brother came upstairs and we decided to make late lunch plans. We just needed to wait for Scarlett pooh to wake up. By 2pm, we decided to just wake her up ourselves and we brought her out to lunch at Applebee’s.

20110516-100016.jpg

Now, back to work. Next week is when I start my weekly appointments at the OB/GYN. Yikes. I think that’s when I’ll start to get more nervous.

11 thoughts on “35-Weeks In

  1. Wow! 5 weeks (more or less) to go! I can’t believe Baby Sanchez will be here soon! So very exciting. Honestly, you will be an awesome mom. I think the nerve-wracking part is knowing the baby has to get OUT of you somehow. LOL There is no easy way to do that…no matter how your baby is born, it isn’t the easiest of all tasks. But, I will tell you that you won’t care. All you will care about is seeing that baby. I didn’t care what they were doing, what they were cutting, anything–I just wanted to see my sweet Cayden, hold him in my arms, and assure myself that he was healthy and really and truly there. 🙂

    Starting the weekly appointments makes it really “real” that you are about to have a baby. Until now, it is still kind of abstract even though you feel the baby and see the baby growing inside. Nothing really prepares you for having that little person who totally relies on you. The first few weeks are overwhelming just as far as you are all learning how to handle this new life. You don’t know what you are doing and neither does your baby but we are hardwired in such a way that we figure it out. It’s pretty miraculous! You will just love being a mom and Pedro will love being a dad. I like to just sit and watch Justin with Cayden–they are just adorable together.

    Anyway, you still look fantastic! You are right that there doesn’t look like a huge change from last week but pictures don’t always tell the whole story. I know your little one is super active (but I’m sorry you got sick on Saturday).

    Scarlett is a cutie! I hope she enjoyed lunch out with you all.

    Have a lovely day and try to sneak some rest in somewhere with everything you are doing. I know, not exactly feasible right now but at least you were able to get in a quick nap yesterday!

    • I know. Starting next week, I think it’ll feel more real to me. I mean, I’m already trying to finish everything that I possibly can before the baby comes, and that’s hard as it is. It’s no wonder why people take a maternity leave beforehand. How does one get it all done?!? I’m positive that I’ll start freaking out more when it’s time to deliver. I mean, I think I’ll be nervous, but at the same time, filled with anticipation to finally meet this baby that has been cooking in this oven for 9 long months. I know that Pedro is super excited. The other night while I was on the couch, I asked him if he was excited for our one-year anniversary and he said, “yeah, but I’m more excited about the baby!” He’s already thinking about watching sports with him/her, walks in park, etc.

      I am definitely going to try my hardest to sneak in a nap. Honestly, I don’t see that happening until Sunday. HA! Oh, I can’t wait until Memorial Day weekend when we have absolutely nothing planned! Ahhhh….

  2. Hi sweetie!
    I’m terribly behind on your blog, miss you terribly, and will write more soon. I hope to catch up one of these evenings.

    XOXO
    Kari

  3. That’s so sweet that Pedro is so excited. He will so enjoy being a dad–having Cayden has brought out the most amazing attributes in Justin.

    It will be so fun to finally see if Baby Sanchez is a he or a she! I am so impressed that you guys managed to stick with your plan and not find out. 🙂

    • When we got that U/S at 33-weeks, Pedro teased me and said, “Let’s find out the sex!” I really thought he was serious that I got kind of excited. It’s crazy that we both couldn’t tell from the U/S. ;o) It’s been 90/10 (boy/girl) when people come up to us. Just 5-weeks (give or take a week or two) before we find out!!! How crazy? Don’t worry, you’re on the *list* to text message.

  4. You look soooo amazing…I cant wait for your little one to arrive. Sorry I havent posted in awhile. I had to look back through LS to find your website. I cleared my cookies at work and lost all my sites I go to 😦 Andre, Chewy and me and doing well. I’m taking off next week for vacation, much needed relax time. Not going out of town but instead just ejoying some time with the hubby :)Cant wait to see all of your pictures cute little mama 😛

    • Oh, I love taking “Staycations”. They are sometimes better than vacations. Every single time I go on a vacation, I need a “staycation” from my vacation.

      Our one year anniversary is this Saturday, and let me tell you, a year ago from Sunday, Pedro and I were on a plane and in MAUI for 10-days. Gosh, it seems just like yesterday. Since I’ll be 35+ weeks pregnant, we couldn’t take a trip anywhere, which is fine by us. Time certainly flies.

      In just a month in a half (at most, I hope… well hopefully if baby’s done cookin’) we’ll have lots of pics of the family.

      So glad to hear you, Chewy and Andre are doing well! We need to catch up on LS. BTW, I’m having technical difficulties on LS. It tells me that I have “NO” friends for some strange reason…

  5. I’m so excited that I am on your list! Thank you! I can’t wait to get that text! Well, I can wait since your baby needs to finish cooking but you know what I mean. 🙂

    • Of course you’re on my list. I am pretty sure I talk to you every single day (except the weekends, LOL). I also talk to you more than I talk to some of my real life friends. HA. Pedro doesn’t refer you to Allie from LS or TDP. He refers you to our friends from TX. ;o)

  6. 🙂 That’s so funny…we refer to you as our New Jersey friends or simply Rachel and Pedro. LOL I do talk to you more than I do my local/real life friends! And now that we also text, I think we end up talking on the weekends here and there too!

Leave a Reply

