Happy Easter

11:45 AM: 3-Mile Run – COMPLETED

Past Easters, I’m always training for a half marathon/marathon and am scheduled to run 16-18 miles right before early Easter dinner. Today was going to be much different — I’m 31-weeks and 5-days pregnant, still running just fine, but not long distances. Ever since my half marathon a few weeks ago, I decided to take it easy with the running – no more long distances until post-baby. I also decided that I needed to incorporate more cross training. So I am spinning 4-5x a week and running 2-3x a week. I am running a fun 5-mile race next Sunday with my girlfriends, Courtney (who is also pregnant, 4 weeks after me) and Emma. So that should be fun.

Being in my final trimester, I’ve been getting some symptoms from my first trimester. Feeling queasy with certain foods and a bit tired. I’m still an incredibly early morning riser, but I’m starting to feel very tired by the day’s end. For example, last night, I was exhausted by 6pm and fast asleep by 6:45. I was tucked into bed by 8 and didn’t wake up until 7:30 this morning. Is this how it’ll be for the next 8.5 weeks? It’s crazy that in two months I’ll be a mama. I’m just hoping I get some energy.

I was able to get two loads of laundry done last night and some baking.

20110424-085950.jpg

I found a Brownie recipe that I thought I’d give a try. It’s fairly easy to make and has a homemade frosting recipe to go on top.

20110424-090039.jpg

In the oven for 25-minutes.

20110424-090240.jpg

And top it off with frosting while still warm.

20110424-090122.jpg

It’s pretty chocolately, per Pedro. I didn’t taste it.

I woke up this morning, but was off/on with my sleep pattern and figuring out what I wanted to do. First, I washed all the dishes. Then I washed my strawberries and chopped them up.

20110424-090940.jpg

Pedro was talking about how I never make pancakes ever. In fact, he didn’t know that I knew how to make them. I’m pretty sure I’ve made them before for him.

20110424-091041.jpg

20110424-091110.jpg

P was still sleeping, so I ended up making myself some pancakes and putting the batter in the fridge so I could make his with bacon when he woke up.

20110424-091216.jpg

It was good. But after, instead of getting up, folding the last of the laundry, and getting my run in, I went back into bed. HA. I finally peeled out around 11, when Pedro did same. Made his breakfast and hopped on the tread for 3-miles while watching Grey’s Anatomy. I didn’t realize I was behind on some episodes. I better catch up before this Thursday’s show. I hate watching it on ABC’s website. I keep going in and out during the good parts.

We had Easter “early” dinner at his brother’s house. I forgot my camera, so no pictures. But there was ham, fillet mignon, roasted potatoes, corn and broccoli. I had one plate filled and called it a day. When desserts came there was lemon cake, ice-cream cake, double trays of brownies, strawberries and whipped cream. I just had a plate of strawberries and whipped cream. Why? Because I bought this bad boy yesterday and was saving it for after Easter dinner — when I got home.

20110424-090552.jpg

Yes, Carvel ice-cream bunny. Well, the bunny has no ear now, thanks to yours truly.

Oh, and today is not only Easter Sunday, but it happens to also be my father-in-law’s birthday. Wishing the best father-in-law a very Happy Birthday!

Okay, it’s 9pm and I really need to get my things ready for tomorrow’s work day. I’m not really feeling like going to work — this 3-day weekend went by way too fast.

Hope everyone had a very Happy Easter!

3 thoughts on “Happy Easter

  1. Yes, you will probably be lower on energy from here on out but I started to perk up some around week 36 so hopefully you will too. Of course, that’s when I got off bed rest so that could be it too. LOL I did get a lot done the three weeks after that though so have hope–you will get things accomplished.

    Your brownies look very good–I just found a recipe I want to try that is dairy-free. I’ll let you know how it tastes.

    Yum–pancakes. I haven’t made those since Cayden was born. LOL Part of that is because of the no milk thing but I have recipes that use soy milk. I just haven’t made them. Maybe this weekend.

    Super-cute bunny cake. Hope you are enjoying every morsel!

    You are still being so active with spinning, running, weight training etc. Awesome! By the way, is Courtney still going to run the race? I thought she had to stop? Just curious.

    Glad you had a good Easter and enjoyed some good food. Ours was great too–we were lazy and went out for Easter dinner this year. I am just tired of having to spend all day cleaning up afterward so I put my foot down and said no cooking and cleaning–I want to enjoy my Cayden’s first Easter and not spend all day in the kitchen. It worked out well but I do miss having leftovers to eat. 🙂

    • Hmm, I am going to look out for a dairy-free brownie recipe. Did I tell you that your name came up in conversation with my dad? I was telling him how Cayden is allergic to dairy products so you are not allowed to have a lot of things!! He asked if you were allergic prior to Cayden and when I said no, he couldn’t believe it!!! He was in shock and I think he felt bad. HAHA. But I told him you’ve adjusted just fine. It’s def hard to figure out that type of diet. I mean, I’m not sure I’d even be able to do it. I hardly eat PIZZA now (except for like Trader Joe’s pizza), and that’s already hard. I love pizza. You know this about me. LOL

      Yes, Courtney is doing much better. She’s monitoring her workouts and she is feeling much better. ;o) Thanks so much for asking. She will be running the 5-mile race this Sunday but we’re going to do it nice and slow. ;o) It’ll be fun! I’ll be sure to be posting LOTS of pictures that day. I hope. I’ll carry my camera since I’m not running fast. HA.

      That’s right, Cayden’s first Easter. I think I’ll do that next year. I want to throw a little Easter Egg Hunt for baby Sanchez and Scarlett. ;o) Wish you guys were closer so we could all do the egg hunt together. Now that would be fun. Oh, and my dad could cook for us. I’ll make sure he makes 10 servings of white rice. LOL

      • How funny! The dairy free thing was hard at first but I am pretty used to it now. Really, I will probably stick with a lot of the changes even after I stop breastfeeding. One, I feel better and two, Cayden won’t be able to have it so I don’t want him seeing us eating a bunch of stuff that he can’t have. That’s not really fair, is it? The hardest things to give up have been the occasional pizza and ice cream/desserts made with milk or butter. But, over the past 6 months, my craving for those things have really decreased so now I don’t miss it at all.

        Glad Courtney is doing better–I’m sure that makes her really happy. I hope you guys have fun at your 5 mile race!

        It would be so fun to do an egg hunt together! We really need to live closer…and I know your dad is a great cook! Such great food…and lots of rice! 🙂 Actually, Justin and I were talking about making a trip that direction sometime next year. I hope we can pull it together and we would finally get to meet you all!

Leave a Reply

