Friday Night In

SATURDAY: 8:30 AM: 3-Mile Run – COMPLETED

I was having some trouble shooting with my wordpress on my iPad, hence my entry yesterday did not go through as planned. I got up rather early since I had my groceries being delivered between 7:30am and 11. When I logged into the website to get an ETA, they were unable to provide me with a time. Sometimes if it’s at 9, I can squeeze in my workout beforehand, but since I didn’t know, I had to wait around. Fortunately, I heard the peapod truck at 7:40.

I was a little annoyed because they didn’t have any bone-in turkey, which I wanted to make this morning in the slowcooker.

After groceries were put away, I hopped on the treadmill for an easy peasy threesy.

Friday morning, right before work, I decided to prep dinner for tonight. I knew if I didn’t, either two things would have happened; I’d be too lazy to cook that (1) we’d order IN or (2) we’d go out to eat. Both would not be good for our pockets or our health. Also, I bought some chicken earlier this week and it needed to be cooked soon before it went bad and I’m trying not to get into the habit of buying foods and then FREEZING them. Bad, Rachel.

I got this recipe from my favorite site, ALLRECIPES, of course with a few modifications.

Easy Garlic Chicken (It calls for this to be “broiled” but I like it better baked).

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter (I use I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter)
3 TBSP of minced garlic
3 TBSP of soy sauce (I used Trader Joe’s Soyaki).
1/4 tsp of black pepper
1 TBSP of dried parsley (optional
6 boneless chicken thighs with skin

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400-degrees

2. Microwave safe bowl, mix the butter, garlic, soy sauce, pepper. Cook two minutes in microwave on high, or until the butter is melted.

3. Arrange chicken on the baking pan, and coat with the butter mixture, reserving some of the mixture for basting.

4. bake chicken for 1-hour. Sprinkle with parsley to serve.

While chicken was baking, I was boiling the potatoes. We were having mashed as a side. I peeled the potatoes earlier that morning and left them in cold water.

Some garlic bread on the side.

After an hour, let it cool down for a few minutes before serving.

There you have it. An easy chicken dish that can be prepared before work. The mashed potatoes are easy also. I usually boil them for 45-60 (depending if I dice them or not), then mash them and add some milk, butter and salt to taste.

After dinner, comes dessert, right? I still had a piece of my Carvel ice-cream cake left and decided to share with P. I forgot we had our ice-cream mugs that we bought in Atlantic City last March.

Delicious and hit the spot.

The perfect end to the perfect low-key evening.

3 thoughts on “Friday Night In

  1. I am going to make that chicken! It sounds easy and very good. Thanks again for another great meal idea! You are awesome.

    I really like your ice cream mugs–I bet you enjoyed the last of your ice cream and how nice of you to share with Pedro. 🙂

    • I’m not sure if you’ve ever watching, “So I Married An Axe Murderer” with Michael Myers. He ordered a big cup of cappuccino and it came in a huge mug like the one in my picture. It reminded me so much of that movie and I had to have it!!!

      OH, Allie, the chicken is definitely flavorful and EASY. You’ll need to make this soon. ;o)

  2. I have seen that movie several times but never would have made the connection with the cups. How funny!

    I will definitely make this chicken…I think I have all the ingredients at home. I’ll have to check my chicken selection but I know I have the rest of it. Thanks again for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

