Sous Chef

3:30 PM: 3.1-Mile Run with Hills – COMPLETED

I was scheduled for a “5-k race/pace” but being pregnant, I try to abstain from intervals/speed runs. Instead, I ran some hills. I figured that I could use the training with hills since the 10-Mile Race in March is pretty hilly and so is Central Park’s Half Marathon Race in April. I took it nice and easy. I had to pee twice though, but no harm done.

I also started my laundry at 8am and the sixth load was folded and put away by 7:00pm. Such a relief to see empty hampers in the house. I even changed the linens, so we’ve got clean sheets to sleep on this evening.

The highlight of the day was me cooking THREE homemade meals. I’ll have lunch for most of the week, and some dinner. For now, I will post the first meal that I made. If I post all three, it might be food overload with way too many pictures, ingredients, directions, etc. I don’t want to confuse you all and mix them up — though you may come with your own concoction – who knows, it might be good.

The first meal I made was my mother-in-law’s Homemade Lentils (or as the say in Spanish, Lentejas). I make this dish often.

Lentil Soup Recipe

Ingredients:

2-3 cups of water
1 cup of lentils
2 carrots diced up
1/2 green pepper (just cut in half)
1/2 onion (just cut in half)
Olive Oil
1/2 onions (diced up)
2 big garlic cloves (diced up)
2-red potatoes peeled and diced up
salt to taste
1 TBSP red wine vinegar
1/4 tsp pimento
goya chicken bouillon
1 TBSP white wine
Chorizo (optional)

Directions:

Start boiling about 1 1/2 cups of water in pot. Wash in cold water lentils. Add half green pepper, half onion and lentils into the pot of water (no need for the water to be boiling). Simmer for about 30-minutes (continuously checking and stirring the lentils. You want to be sure that there is still water in there too). While lentils are in pot, finely chop 1/2 onion and 2 big garlic cloves. sauté onions and garlic in olive oil (about 15-minutes – taste to see if sweet) or until nice and golden and sweet. Peel and dice the potatoes.

After about 1/2 hour, check on lentils. If ready (you may need to add some water), take out the green pepper and onion, then add potatoes, carrots and chorizo. Also, add the sautéed onions and garlic. May need to add water. Stir and watch for about 20-minutes. After 20-minutes or so, add pimento, salt, chicken bouillon, red wine vinegar, 1 TBSP of white wine. Let simmer for about 10-minutes. Then add 1 TBSP of olive oil and stir. Lentils should be ready to serve.

I was excited to use my new soup pot that my boss from my part-time job gave me for Christmas. It also came with a Soup Recipe Book, but I haven’t tried anything new yet.

I love the new pot. It’s also very, VERY easy to clean and the lentils don’t stick to the sides like my other pots do.

Make sure to finely chop the onions and garlic.

And sauté in olive oil.

We have our diced up potatoes, carrots and chorizo (which optional. I almost always include the chorizo).

Take out the green pepper and onion.

Add the onions, garlic, carrots, potatoes and chorizo. Mix well (continuously).

Then the final touches for the last 10-minutes.

It smelled yummy.

Pedro said it tasted yummy. I didn’t even get to taste it. I was already starting the next meal, which I promise will be in an entry this week. ;o)

Let me know if you give this one a try. My girlfriend asked me for this recipe and she LOVES making it now. It’s healthy and hearty. What’s not to love?

I’m off to bed now. I’ve been working non-stop between laundry, my run, and cooking 3-hours straight. My poor feet are sore.

One thought on “Sous Chef

  1. Yum! I know you make this one all the time but I have yet to try it. It is on my list to try in the next couple of weeks. I have most of the ingredients so I just have to pick up the red potatoes and lentils. Thanks for the pictures and instructions!

Leave a Reply

