Chicken in a Pot Pie

I had every intention of making this Homemade Chicken Pot Pie for dinner yesterday, but had other dinner plans. My father made me some Homemade Filipino food that I just COULD NOT turn down. Since I was wide awake by 5AM this morning, I decided to make myself useful and get to cooking.

I took this recipe from All Recipes (I love getting my recipes from here. It never fails) with slight modifications. I read some reviews and decided to eliminate the celery and add red potatoes.

Ingredients

1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cubed
1 cup of frozen green peas
2 small red potatoes peeled and diced
1/3 cup butter (light butter unsalted)
1/3 cup chopped onions
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1/4 tsp celery seed
1 1/2 cup chicken broth
1 1/3 cup 1% milk

2 (9-inch) unbaked pie crusts. I used Pillsbury that is very easy to unroll. I also read reviews that suggested doubling up the broth/milk. It might be more than you need, but you can gauge when you pour into the bowl.

Le Ingredients

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 425-degrees F
2. In a saucepan, combine chicken, carrots, peas and potatoes. Add water to cover and boil for 15-minutes. Remove from heat, drain and set aside.
3. In the sauce pan over medium heat, cook onions in butter until soft and translucent. Stir in flour, salt, pepper and celery seed. Slowly stir in chicken broth and milk. Simmer over medium-low heat until thick. Remove from heat and set aside.
4. Place the chicken mixture in bottom pie crust. Pour liquid mixture over. Cover with top crust, seal edges and cut away excess dough. Make several small slits in the top to allow steam to escape.
5. Bake in the preheated oven for 30-35 minutes, or until pastry is golden brown and filling is bubbly. Cool for 10-min. before serving.

Onions in the butter. I’m not a fan of onions, but when it smells so good when it’s sautéing in butter. Wouldn’t you agree?

I think that this was the best pie crust I could have used. Not only is it easy to unroll but it actually tastes great.

I may have poured a little too much of the broth/milk into the pie dish, but live and learn. After, I put the top crust layer on, I debated back and forth whether I should bake this right away or after work. I decided I’d bake it now so that I could take some to lunch. While I put this baby in the oven, I hopped on this for a 30-minute tempo run.

I then checked on the pie and it looked like it could stay in for a few more minutes. I took a quick shower and then it was done.

It was DELICIOUS. I’m glad that I didn’t wait to make it for dinner because I’m looking forward to lunch. I took a few bites and I’m pretty sure baby was doing somersaults. I got my run in, made a pot pie, my day was going great. As I’m leaving for work, I was surprised with this at the front door. As if my day wasn’t going great already… ;o)

A SURPRISE GIFT FROM MY HUSBAND!!! WHAT COULD IT BE? He is seriously the best. I love him to pieces. You’ll have to stay tuned to see what he bought me.

8 thoughts on “Chicken in a Pot Pie

  1. Your meal looks amazing! You are such a great cook. Your baby is going to love your meals (and aparently already does).

    Can’t wait to see what P got you!

  2. Allie, I think this is something you might like. It says it’s only 416 calories for one serving too (but that’s w/out the potato. Also, you could obviously substitute the milk for low fat milk, the butter too, etc. You know how it goes… ;o) All Recipes always has the best recipes… Or so I think they do.

  3. I like All Recipes too. I always modify the recipes, though. 🙂 I will have to try it…I wonder if I can use soy milk since I can’t have cow’s milk due to Cayden’s allergy? Hmmm…I’ll have to research it.

    • Interesting. There are so many reviews on that page, so check it out. It definitely deserved FIVE stars. I ate it for lunch and it was so good.

  4. Pingback: Unknown Sender « Run Around My Blog

  5. Pingback: Catching Up « Run Around My Blog

  6. Pingback: Dinner with Rachel (No, Not myself!!!)… « Run Around My Blog

  7. Pingback: Bake, Eat, Run, Repeat… « Wife Mom Runs

Leave a Reply

